Author Topic: Idea for FPGA related blog  (Read 3881 times)

Offline TarmoTopic starter

• Supporter
Idea for FPGA related blog
« on: October 12, 2011, 05:44:08 pm »
I'm a 2nd year "Computer and Systems Engineering" student at Tallinn University of Technology. Also I'm a member of the biggest robotics club in our country (Estonia). For some time I've been thinking about creating a FPGA related blog.

Why I want to create this blog is that when I started learning how to do things with FPGA's by myself I didn't have a place where I could find all the relevant information. I was always reading some generic theoretical material (which is also somewhat necessary) and studying how other designs were written but mostly figuring stuff out by trial and error.  It is a way to do it but I think it could be easier.

What I want to cover in my blog is all the basics about designing an embedded system using an FPGA from installing and configuring software on the PC to a working design. I would base all my design on the cheapest FPGA boards available. Namely the Terasic DE0-Nano (Altera Cyclone IV E) which is about 79USD and the open-source Papilio One (Xilinx Spartan3)  which is 50 or 75USD.I have both.

With the blog I would like to create a place where a complete beginner would find all the necessary information: theory on how  stuff works, block diagrams to illustrate it  and writing code that might be simplistic but works well. From time to time I would focus on a bit more complex topics  like PID controllers and so on. Also I would cover such generic topics like looking at a communication protocol and figuring out how to create VHDL code to interface with it.

Some the topics would also  be directly related to robotics, as this is my main hobby. I know this is going to take a large amount of my free time, but I think it's worth it.

I would like to know if there would be any interest in a blog like that and if there are any suggestions what aspects would also need covering?