Author Topic: Inaccurate reading with th2822c?!  (Read 9369 times)

Offline Aido4everTopic starter

• Contributor
Inaccurate reading with th2822c?!
« on: March 29, 2012, 09:46:46 pm »
Hi everyone...

I just bought the Thongui TH2822C (100khz) LCR Meter.

This is my FIRST LCR meter, never had one before and i'm kind of new to it.

I've tested bunch of capacitors with it, from few pF to 1.5mf.....

I've found that it has inaccurecy in the uF range.... especially in that range!!!

for example:

a 330uF capacitor shows as 305uF on the LCR (pal/100hz) while on the UT71E it's 328uF and on the fluke 289 it's: 326uF.
I found out i have it manly on the uF range....

Did i just waisted 420$?

Offline amspire

• Super Contributor
Re: Inaccurate reading with th2822c?!
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2012, 11:04:49 pm »
The Thongui TH2822C is more likely to be correct - the multimeters will be in error.

The multimeter-type capacitance measurement is usually at an unknown frequency, and you only get an accurate reading when parts behave as near ideal capacitors. It could be that if you look at the frequency across the capacitor for the multimeter measurement, it is high enough for the ESR of the capacitor to increase the reading.

The Thongui is measuring properly at a known frequency and it is separately measuring the capacitive and resistive components of the impedance.

Richard.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 07:21:00 am »
Thanks richard.

But the multimeters reading are much closer to the actual value of the capacitor then the TH2822C so logically they are more accurate.

I've tested also with a cheap capacitor tester and it gave a reading closer to the multimeters as well.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 07:31:44 am by Aido4ever »

Offline Harvs

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2012, 11:53:56 am »