Author Topic: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....  (Read 6428 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • !
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« on: June 22, 2010, 08:22:35 pm »
Like always in a sweet price ..     ;D  

Now I will be able to measure any voltage up to 40KV
And with my Fluke 87-5  and the Chauvin Arnoux PAC12 ( AC/DC PRO Probe Clamp)
I feel like a small God .... you name it, I can measure it ..  ;D   ;D    ;D

Pictures ..


Old links
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?topic=660.0
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?topic=354.0
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 08:25:13 pm by Kiriakos-GR »
 

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • !
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2010, 09:16:33 pm »
Who would ever believe , that such an item, will have the weight of  2 lb  or  about 900 grams !!

I did allot of research , so to find the details about the weight .
Because I thought  that the seller wanted to cheat about postal cost ..

Its a damn heavy stick ...  ;D

And I believe, that the most weight , its up to the main isolator part ..

Oh well, three weeks waiting its expected , I selected the cheapest method to be send.. 
So to save 15$ on shipping.
 

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • !
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 08:30:27 pm »
For testing, the mosquito weapon ,  I will verify the true high voltage of it .  :D

I like to verify , the specs ...  

As soon this stick is tested,  then I could measure with safety any fly-back transformer.
Or any voltage at FM transmitters "power supply" , that uses as anode volts , anything above 1000V DC .
 

Offline MyZirconia

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2010, 05:24:22 am »
What type of FM transmittters do you mean,Tube poweramplifiers or..?
Are you a Radio Amateur (HAM)?


//Magnus
 

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • !
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2010, 08:46:59 am »
What type of FM transmittters do you mean,Tube poweramplifiers or..?
Are you a Radio Amateur (HAM)?


//Magnus

1) Tube poweramplifiers
2) was, at 6 MHz SSB 
 

Offline MyZirconia

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2010, 09:13:00 am »
hehehe

6 mhz sounds like piracy radio :o, there isnt a regular Amateur band at 6 mhz :)

//Magnus
 

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • !
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2010, 11:09:13 am »
a regular Amateur band

//Magnus

Never was " regular " as person ..   ;D  ;D  ;D
 

Offline CDA

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2010, 11:32:42 am »
How about some pics of it in action   ;D
 

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • !
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2010, 02:12:28 pm »
How about some pics of it in action   ;D

There is no  " action " involved in measurements.

Still with out all this special probes , some measurements would be impossible to happen. 

Any way , if you love " action " in measurements , check this link .
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?topic=660.0
 

Offline MyZirconia

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2010, 03:58:03 pm »
Othewise this is a oldie but goodie highvolt meter :)
 

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • !
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2010, 03:38:46 pm »
Well my parcel arrived from Canada after of 55 long days ....

It looks that when the Canadians are saying  ..  international surface standart
They have the little Joe , an pony horse , they stack on it the parcel , and they let it swim all the way from Canada to Greece ..

This is the most ridicules experience that I had from an National Postage organization EVER ..
No No wait ..... I did had an worst than that ,  the Australian Sea Mail ...  Got a chain for my motorcycle ,
and it arrived  3.5 Months after the payment ..

The Good news , it works beautifully, and the voltage detected on my insects zapper, are 3.840 Volts ..  ;D

Tested the probe with the Fluke 87-5  &  8050A , and it works accurately in all.
The probe it self , looks totally new ,  shiny and all ..

Now I feel like the God ZEUS , at the one hand I have control over the lightnings up to 40KV ,
and at the other hand  , over the Amperes up to 600A ..

 ;D    ;D     ;D   

 
 

Offline Excavatoree

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 841
  • Country: us
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2010, 06:17:46 pm »
I'm glad you got a good deal.

I find these probes useful even for low voltage work (110/220 mains) when you are probing in an electrical panel.   Using the test lead probes requires you to put your hands close to the buss bars, cable lugs, etc.  The sturdy HV probe allows me to keep my hand farther away while still being able to hit the breaker output terminal, bus bar, etc.

 

Offline Time

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 725
  • Country: us
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2010, 01:32:16 am »
Thats a nice probe.  I use them quite a bit.  I never thought they seemed heavy.
-Time
 

Offline Time

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 725
  • Country: us
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #13 on: August 18, 2010, 06:16:48 am »
3.84 V?  You mean 3.84 kV?
-Time
 

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • !
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #14 on: August 18, 2010, 01:30:39 pm »
3.84 V?  You mean 3.84 kV?

Yes ..  

1V measured by the DMM  =  1000V or 1KV
 

Offline unicornio

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: es
  • linving in the energy and water edge
    • http://www.tallerecologicolosunicornios.org/
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #15 on: June 23, 2014, 06:14:19 pm »
hi, Kiriakos-GR, and all of you, guys!

i just buy a k40-6 from ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/351087822997?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

by the method of auction. had a starting price of $ 7.92!
I had to stay up late on the last day to get my hands on it, a few minutes before i have two competitors left ...
is the first time i buy anything from ebay!...;-)

I need this probe to measure working voltages in ozone generation equipment with which I am working now. voltages are of the order of 4 or 5 Kv ... I've been looking for a long time fot it, but are rare to find used, and new are very expensive...

I am now checking it state, that physically is perfect, but measuring the resistance between signal and ground, (the two bannanas that you put in your multimeter) it does not match with the 80K-6 manual data, where the value of the scheme comes:
http://exodus.poly.edu/~kurt/manuals/manuals/Fluke/FLUKE%2080K-6%20Instruction.pdf

it gives me a resistance of 86.65 K where in the manual says you have to give 75K ... i make the measure with some multimeters that i know, all are working well...

I would like if you could measure yours and tell me the value that gives you. apparently the voltage divider is 1000:1 in both, so that the values ??should be very similar, although yours hold a much higher voltage ...

i need to know if the voltage divisor is good, baecause if not, i can not to know what voltage i have!

many thanks in advance,
best regards!
electronic and microwave radio engineer for 30 years, radioamateur, and now work in #solar #energy hi-end equipments, #water #depuration and #ozone generation #technology
http://www.tallerecologicolosunicornios.org/
 

Offline lowimpedance

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
  • Country: au
  • Watts in an ohm?
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2014, 01:29:05 am »
Just to note that the OP Kiriakos has long gone so wont be replying any time soon.
I have one but its at home so will have to wait until tomorrow (unless someone else has it !).
Can you measure a lower safer voltage and check the division ratio is correct?.

edit : just noticed that this question has been re posted more appropriately in test equip. and answered there.
So the threads slips back into the depths again.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2014, 01:34:45 am by lowimpedance »
The odd multimeter or 2 or 3 or 4...or........can't remember !.
 

Offline Tube_Dude

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 115
  • Country: pt
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2014, 01:53:40 am »

it gives me a resistance of 86.65 K where in the manual says you have to give 75K ... i make the measure with some multimeters that i know, all are working well...


Saludos Unicornio

It seams you are making some confusion with numbers. The resistance you are measuring between the two bananas you connect to the multimeter, is the resistance of the lower arm of the voltage divider. The input impedance given by Fluke, should be measured between the sharp point of the probe and the banana that connects to the negative of the multimeter. So you have measured ~ 86k, and the voltage divider is 1000/1, it will make un input impedance of ~ 86M not so far from the 75M (nominal ?? ) . Fluke doesn't even seams to give any tolerance for this last value...
Jorge
 

Offline N2IXK

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 699
  • Country: us
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #18 on: June 24, 2014, 02:31:53 am »
Yes, Fluke just states that the overall division ratio is 1000:1. The exact value varies somewhat, with both resistors sold as a set matched to each other. The 75 megohms is specifically referred to as a NOMINAL value.

The 1000:1 ratio also assumes the output resistor in the probe is placed in parallel with the 10 meg input impedance of the multimeter. If your DMM has a different input impedance (which can vary somewhat depending on range), your readings will vary accordingly.

I use an 80K-40 with the Fluke 87 and 8060A meters, and it works very well, with accuracy well within specs.
"My favorite programming language is...SOLDER!"--Robert A. Pease
 

Offline David Hess

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10685
  • Country: us
  • DavidH
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2014, 06:59:28 pm »
i need to know if the voltage divisor is good, baecause if not, i can not to know what voltage i have!

Just measure it.  Use your highest convenient DC source, measure it with your voltmeter, and then measure it with the voltmeter and probe.
 

Offline David Hess

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10685
  • Country: us
  • DavidH
Re: Just got my High voltage stick !! Fluke 80K-40 ....
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2014, 07:16:55 pm »
I have an 80K-6 which I picked up inexpensively and have used for checking oscilloscope CRT cathode voltages which are generally in the -2000 to -4000 volt range.  The big advantage of the 80K-40 is its much higher input resistance of 1 GOhm instead of 75 MOhms.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf