Author Topic: Lab in a box, tool storage  (Read 1502 times)

Offline galvanixTopic starter

• Contributor
Lab in a box, tool storage
« on: April 22, 2021, 08:42:29 am »
As a fairly recent graduate I will be moving around a bit in the coming years so I'm looking for a good, portable storage solution for my electronics tools.

Currently I'm thinking of using an off the shelf tool box and filling it up with my hand tools (screw drivers, calipers, handheld DMM etc.).

I don't really have a solution for the other stuff like soldering station, oscilloscope, components etc.

I know of tool trolleys but they're not only expensive but also heavy as hell (20+ kg  when empty) and become a real pain/impossible to move, especially in a building without an elevator.

Any ideas how to deal with the bigger stuff?
My current moving solution is the venerable old banana crate, which is good for moving but not so great for storage.
Ideally I would like to be able to break down the lab and just put it in a corner when I'm done with it. I don't want to go back to an electronics lab with a bed in it like at uni  :palm: .

Offline Syntax Error

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Lab in a box, tool storage
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2021, 09:08:48 am »
Check out the transit boxes/cases used by musicians. These are guys who have to move heavy bulky kit every day. Not cheap, but they are tough, have wheels and, will last a lifetime.

Offline ledtester

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2021, 09:15:35 am »
You might look into what in the US are called "rolling tool boxes":

1213688-0

The following users thanked this post: cdev

Offline Syntax Error

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2021, 09:18:31 am »
Defo'  :-+

Offline Refrigerator

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2021, 09:19:57 am »
Oscilloscopes don't have to be big, my VDS1022 USB scope is palm sized pretty much and i carry it everywhere.