Author Topic: basic RF lab setup  (Read 9413 times)

Offline yanirTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
basic RF lab setup
« on: December 19, 2011, 04:36:43 pm »
Hi, I've been designing electronics for work for a few years and started as a hobbyist. Still relatively new to this world. I've recently gotten into RF and want to build a basic lab for this purpose. As far as electronics go, equipment isn't cheap but jeez, RF is another order of magnitude! Logic analyzers and network analyzers are ridiculously expensive.
Anyone know of good brands and used models that are good for tinkering? I'm interested in microwave bandwidth, I've been playing with some cellular modules at home and would like to do impedance match testing on antenna microstrip. Those frequencies are in the ghz range. That equipment can get pricey. I'd also settle for playing around in lower frequencies if the equipment is dirt cheap.

So 1. I need to perform an impedance match test on 900mhz - 1800mhz for some signal tracks on my board.
                How can I do this cheaply?
     2. I'd like to play with wifi and other 2.4ghz technologies
     3. I'll take anything that is good for learning.

Anyone done this before? Any recommendations? I have a rigol scope 100mhz (originally 50mhz, thanks the forum). I need some other basic equipment I can build, like a lab power supply and a signal generator.

I've heard that you can use a signal analyzer and tracking generator to substitute a VNA in some situations. This seems like a cost effective way to go. Thoughts?

Thanks

Offline Short Circuit

• Frequent Contributor
Re: basic RF lab setup
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2011, 05:42:41 pm »
There is some PC/USB based equipment on the market;
http://www.signalhound.eu/buy.htm
http://www.sdr-kits.net/ seems nice too, but limited to 1.3GHz

No experience with either one though.

Offline olsenn

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2011, 05:52:18 pm »