Author Topic: Lion Air crash: Jakarta Boeing 737 'had prior instrument error'  (Read 180866 times)

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
Re: Lion Air crash: Jakarta Boeing 737 'had prior instrument error'
« Reply #1275 on: May 14, 2020, 07:51:46 pm »
I'm not an aviation engineer but it does leave me scratching my head as to why they'd decide to have two separate sensors but then not make some method of indicating a disagreement between the two as a standard feature. What's the point of redundancy if you're not going to detect a fault and alert the crew so they can act accordingly? It also strikes me as a very serious oversight that someone thought it was ok to make this MCAS system have so much authority that it could just keep pushing the nose down over and over beyond the ability of the flight controls to override. Surely there is some threshold where it should have been trivial for the software to determine "Ok we've pushed the nose down well beyond what we ever expect to need, something is probably wrong!"

I do agree with this. This was also my point right from the start, but I remember a few people replying to this that (IIRC):
- this was not as bad per se or as unusual as I thought;
- properly knowing what to do in case of sensors disagreement could be almost untractable;
- showing alerts was likely not a good idea, because overloading pilots with alerts was usually counter-productive.

(I probably forgot a couple other points.)

I do not agree with any of the above, but hey. YMMV. And for the 3rd point, there's a line between too little and too much.

As to adding a safety threshold as you suggested last - I also do agree, but it seems obvious (also from other discussions on related topics) that all this was just lacking in the written specifications for some reason, thus the developers just didn't implement any of this. Back to a discussion we had a while ago.