EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

General => General Technical Chat => Topic started by: Zero999 on August 05, 2017, 06:14:49 pm

Title: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: Zero999 on August 05, 2017, 06:14:49 pm
Sorry, if this is posted in the wrong place. There's no simulation section, and if there is and I've not found it, could a moderator please move it.

I've noticed that, on in the component selection window, the bottom or top line of components in the list is often hidden. There is a work around: resizing the window or using the cursor keys to navigate but it's a pain. Has anyone else noticed this? Is there an easy fix?

See attached. Notice that the resistor network in the list is hidden? If you look carefully, you can see where it's highlighted at the bottom left hand corner of the list. If the window is shrunk vertically slightly, it disappears altogether.

(https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/ltspice-wine-issues/?action=dlattach;attach=338651;image)
Title: Re: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: alm on August 05, 2017, 08:11:46 pm
No such problem here, see attachment. Running the latest LTspice (just updated) on Wine 1.8.7 in a dedicated wineprefix that had nothing else installed (no winetricks or nothing). Resizing the select component symbol window does not trigger the problem either.

Try installing LTspice in a fresh wineprefix. Something like:
Code: [Select]
env WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine.ltspice wine LTspiceXVII.exe
env WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine.ltspice wine ~/.wine.ltspice/drive_c/Program\ Files/LTC/LTspiceXVII/XVIIx64.exe
Title: Re: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: Zero999 on August 05, 2017, 09:22:36 pm
No such problem here, see attachment. Running the latest LTspice (just updated) on Wine 1.8.7 in a dedicated wineprefix that had nothing else installed (no winetricks or nothing). Resizing the select component symbol window does not trigger the problem either.

Try installing LTspice in a fresh wineprefix. Something like:
Code: [Select]
env WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine.ltspice wine LTspiceXVII.exe
env WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine.ltspice wine ~/.wine.ltspice/drive_c/Program\ Files/LTC/LTspiceXVII/XVIIx64.exe

I tried that but it didn't work. It generates some interesting errors though:

Code: [Select]
env WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine.ltspice wine /home/alunjones/Downloads/LTspiceXVII.exe
fixme:winediag:start_process Wine Staging 2.13 is a testing version containing experimental patches.
fixme:winediag:start_process Please mention your exact version when filing bug reports on winehq.org.
fixme:nls:GetThreadPreferredUILanguages 00000038, 0x33f6c8, 0x33f6d8 0x33f6cc
fixme:nls:get_dummy_preferred_ui_language (0x38 0x33f6c8 0x33f6d8 0x33f6cc) returning a dummy value (current locale)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000060)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000060)
fixme:shell:InitNetworkAddressControl stub
Could not parse file "/home/alunjones/.local/share/applications/wine-LTspice XVII.desktop": Invalid key name: Path[$e]
fixme:ver:GetCurrentPackageId (0xb30e798 (nil)): stub
[alunjones@localhost ~]$ fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:ver:GetCurrentPackageId (0xacbd20 (nil)): stub
fixme:shell:InitNetworkAddressControl stub
fixme:wincodecs:JpegDecoder_Frame_CopyPalette (0xb3248,0xef5b0): stub
fixme:wincodecs:JpegDecoder_Frame_CopyPalette (0xb3248,0xfb990): stub
fixme:wincodecs:JpegDecoder_Frame_CopyPalette (0xc51c58,0xff770): stub
fixme:wincodecs:JpegDecoder_Frame_CopyPalette (0xc4fce8,0x101570): stub         

The bit where it says "start_process Wine Staging 2.13 is a testing version containing experimental patches." doesn't sound good to me. I've checked my packages and I've got 2.13-1, yet according to the website the latest stable version is 2.0.1 and the development version is 2.1.4, so it looks like I have a development version. I'm using PCLinuxOS by the way.
https://www.winehq.org/ (https://www.winehq.org/)
Title: Re: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: alm on August 05, 2017, 09:39:32 pm
Could be a Wine version issue. Either that or something in the display/font configuration that upsets Wine.
Title: Re: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: HoracioDos on August 07, 2017, 06:26:55 pm
It could be many things. I would check if ms core fonts package is installed. If it's not the case: sudo apt-get install ttf-mscorefonts-installer

If you want to update wine, you can do it from WineHQ directly or some other PPA.
WineHQ now has a stable version 2.0.2 (This is the lastest stable, NOT staging or development version).

Install instructions for ubuntu based distro:
https://wiki.winehq.org/Ubuntu

Also you can get the same version from this excelent ppa:
https://launchpad.net/~jonathonf/+archive/ubuntu/wine

I found that LTSpice is now a little bit more buggy with newer wine versions. Also happened that my previous ./wine config was not recognized and updated when I switched to a different repository and I had to install Win apps again.

I've been upgrading from 1.6.x - 1.8.x to 2.0.x in the last year. I would recommend to stick to one repository and stay there. There should be no problems to upgrade wine from them in the future once you've made your choice.

Hope this can help.
Title: Re: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: Zero999 on August 07, 2017, 09:04:14 pm
I agree, it does look like a font problem. I've noticed that in alm's screenshot the text is anti-aliased, but it isn't in mine, despite the fact that all the other text on my system is anti-aliased.

What are the names of the font packages which need to be installed? Is use PCLinuxOS, which uses APT-RPM.
Title: Re: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: alm on August 07, 2017, 09:15:15 pm
Does this admittedly old article (http://pclosmag.com/html/Issues/201502/page07.html) help? In particular this quote:
Quote
Probably the easiest way to get new fonts is to install them from Synaptic. This is, by far, the easiest way to install fonts. Just search with the term "font" and you will find all sorts of extra fonts you can install. While in Synaptic, do a quick look to see if the "webcore-fonts" package is installed. If it isn't, go ahead and install it. This package contains all of the fonts that are typically found on a Windows installation.
Title: Re: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: HoracioDos on August 07, 2017, 09:54:18 pm
What are the names of the font packages which need to be installed? Is use PCLinuxOS, which uses APT-RPM.

I'm pretty sure that Synaptic is already installed in PCLinuxOS. Open Synaptic and search for something like "msttcore". It's always better to install from the official repos.

b) If yum package manager is installed: yum search msttcore* Then: yum install  "package name"

c) Download the rpm package from here and install it with: rpm -ivh "package name"
ftp://rpmfind.net/linux/sourceforge/m/ms/mscorefonts2/rpms/msttcore-fonts-installer-2.6-1.noarch.rpm (http://ftp://rpmfind.net/linux/sourceforge/m/ms/mscorefonts2/rpms/msttcore-fonts-installer-2.6-1.noarch.rpm)

d) Use this method from PCLinuxOS KB.
http://pclinuxoshelp.com/index.php/Fonts,_Windows (http://pclinuxoshelp.com/index.php/Fonts,_Windows)

By the way. This is how it looks like in Mint 18.2 under wine 2.0.2
Title: Re: LTSpice & WINE Issues
Post by: Zero999 on August 07, 2017, 10:12:01 pm
"webcore fonts" is installed. The directory is also present. Here's what I get when I do an ls:

Code: [Select]
[me@localhost ~]$ ls /usr/share/fonts/webcore
andalemo.ttf  calibrib.ttf  cambria.ttc   couri.ttf     georgiaz.ttf  segoeuii.ttf  tahomabd.ttf  trebucbd.ttf  verdana.ttf
arialbd.ttf   calibrii.ttf  cambriaz.ttf  cour.ttf      impact.ttf    segoeuil.ttf  tahoma.ttf    trebucbi.ttf  verdanaz.ttf
arialbi.ttf   calibri.ttf   comicbd.ttf   fonts.scale   l_10646.ttf   segoeuiz.ttf  timesbd.ttf   trebucit.ttf  webdings.ttf
ariali.ttf    calibriz.ttf  comic.ttf     georgiab.ttf  lucon.ttf     seguibk.ttf   timesbi.ttf   trebuc.ttf    wingding.ttf
arial.ttf     cambriab.ttf  courbd.ttf    georgiai.ttf  micross.ttf   seguisb.ttf   timesi.ttf    verdanab.ttf
ariblk.ttf    cambriai.ttf  courbi.ttf    georgia.ttf   segoeuib.ttf  symbol.ttf    times.ttf     verdanai.ttf

So it seems like it's a problem with the WINE version I'm  using.