Author Topic: Mechanical Electronic Circuit Boards is messing with my mind.  (Read 957 times)

Offline BrianHGTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Looking here at this video:

What is being described as a electronic circuit and what I see how it's working totally messes with my mind in a horrible way.  I cannot make heads or tails of any of it.  This is not how I visualize electrons moving in a circuit.

Is it just me or is the visual hardware devices in this video totally the incorrect way to see how these simple circuits operate?  It's like everything is backwards or the opposite of how things supposed to be.

Am I crazy?  Watching this makes me feel stupid about electronics, yet, I've been doing analog electronics for over 20 years now.

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
Re: Mechanical Electronic Circuit Boards is messing with my mind.
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2023, 08:58:31 pm »
Once upon a time I hated electronics because I couldn't visualise how it worked. Nothing moved, so it was all make believe. Some time later it kind of clicked, but I am still more mechanically minded than pretending invisible things are whizzing around a wire. So these kits are dead simple, to me, to relate to, and I can see how the battery and resistor are made obvious via the mechanical analogs.

I guess it depends on how you think and how you got into this stuff. For some, no doubt the hydraulic version is more meaningful, or the pneumatic one.

Online ebastler

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2023, 09:10:32 pm »
This has been discussed here a while ago: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/spintronics-learning-electronics-with-mechanics/msg4344019/#msg4344019

The feeling that Spintronics provided a bad analogy, not helpful in developing an intuition for real electronics, has been voiced in that thread too. I certainly share that feeling! If I want a mechanical analogy for conductors, current and voltage, I will take water pipes, flow and pressure any time.