Author Topic: Misuse of a Cheap Multimeter  (Read 7708 times)

Offline faultywarriorTopic starter

Misuse of a Cheap Multimeter
« on: July 25, 2012, 01:43:06 am »
So first off, I'm Jim.  I'm a computer geek at my core and have been pretty much since I could walk.  :)  I'm a systems administrator by day (and often by night as well) with cars, electronics, photography, and all of that mixed in together as my hobbies.

With that out of my way, I decided to throw up a quick post about what happens when you use cheap multimeters...and more specifically, what happens when you use them incorrectly.

I happen to have a quite cheap ($30 us or so?) RadioShack meter that I just use for dirty stuff especially when I'm working on my cars as it doesn't need to be all that accurate.

Anyhow, with a recent rash of dead batteries in one of my cars, I decided to probe each fuse without the key in the ignition to see which circuit was drawing power.  I set my meter to current measure mode.  After getting some weird results that didn't make any sense (43 milliamps across the main battery circuit even with the car running); I decided to see what my battery voltage was...well, I forgot to set the meter to voltage mode. ::)  As you can guess, I was found that out when the huge spark I got when I touched to probes to my battery terminals scared the crap outta me.  >:(

My meter says it's cat 3 rated...not sure if I believe that or not, but nothing blew up and I didn't get fried; so it ended fine.

The main lesson here?  When working with cheap tools, ALWAYS double-check your mode selector dial.

Offline FenderBender

• Super Contributor
    • The Solid State Workshop
Re: Misuse of a Cheap Multimeter
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 01:59:05 am »
Well always check your selector dial with any multimeter. Whether it's a Mastech or  Fluke, no one wants their multimeter to turn into a bomb.

Glad you're not hurt. Those batteries can put out some serious juice.

Offline David_AVD