Author Topic: Modern budget scopes, just how good are they?  (Read 14396 times)

Offline AndyC_772Topic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
Modern budget scopes, just how good are they?
« on: August 27, 2012, 12:12:02 pm »
Hi all,

When I was learning electronics, having a scope at all was a luxury. They were expensive, and only really available if you had access to a professional lab. We had a couple of crappy ones at school, and my dad occasionally brought home a 20 MHz Hameg from work, but that was about it.

Not long after I graduated I ended up working for a major electronics company, where we had some properly decent Tektronix kit in the lab. We had a TDS3014 as the general 'every day' scope, and there was a 500 MHz TDS5xx in the lab which we used on memory interfaces and other fast stuff.

Both were great - easy to use, clear displays, flexible trigger options, and the whole 'digital phosphor' display mode gave a superb impression of the shape of the signal. (Yes, I'm a Tek fan, and no, I'm not going to apologise! I seem to remember we tried a LeCroy before buying the TDS, and we all hated it).

Last year I started doing some consulting work, and had to set myself up a proper lab. I needed a DSO for capturing one-off events, so out went my 100 MHz analogue Fluke scope (a nice enough piece of kit), and in came a Tek TDS754D. I like my Tek a lot; it's the updated, colour version of the "good" lab scope we had back in the day, and thanks to the passage of time and the arrival of Ebay, reasonably affordable. But I'm aware that it's on borrowed time; the date in the firmware says 1991-98, so it's 14 years old, and they're a total swine to fix when they do break.