Author Topic: Motor drive for CNC machine  (Read 422 times)

Offline BillTopic starter

Motor drive for CNC machine
« on: March 30, 2024, 11:51:20 pm »
Hello everyone,

I know that the subject of motor drives for CNC machines is less discussed in electronics, more particularly in digital electronics, and even there are not many publications on it in scientific journals, I would like those who have had experience or knowledge on this subject shares it with us, because recently I have just exploited this field of pure electronics precisely with Mitsubishi variators of the A/B/C series, I have just discovered this immense and interesting world in electronics.

Thanks !

Offline EPAIII

• Super Contributor
Re: Motor drive for CNC machine
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2024, 09:37:08 am »
I have some experience and have done some calculations. Where would you like to start?

In general there are two types of CNC motor controls: OPEN loop and CLOSED loop.

An open loop system determines what you want to do and then issues the necessary commands to the motor drivers to accomplish it. A system that uses stepper motors is a good example. You want to move 1mm to produce a 1mm cut. The system "knows" how many steps the motor must step to produce the 1mm movement in the tool or blank part. It then issues that many steps along with the direction to the motor controller. Finally the motor controller issues the pulsed step current to the stepper motor. What is lacking here is any verification that the desired movement actually took place. That is why it is OPEN loop: there is no feedback to ensure that the desired movement actually took place.