Author Topic: Mouser packaging  (Read 10951 times)

Offline arobyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Mouser packaging
« on: February 26, 2014, 07:30:27 pm »
I'm relatively new to electronics, so have been ordering bits and pieces from various places.  I'm astonished by the sheer amount of packaging that Mouser uses.  I just received an order which was mainly small components, one larger relay, a bottle of liquid flux and a flux dispenser bottle.  Total value was about $80.  All of this arrived in an 8"x8"x12" box, mostly full of bubble wrap.  Obviously everything was individually bagged (the empty flux dispenser was in a bag roughly twice the size of the dispenser and its packaging).  I get that - probably due to the order assembly process, but an incredible waste (and cost) overall. 

One item I bought (3 USB A board mount receptacles), not only came in a bag with the receptacles mounted on foam, but that itself was rolled up in 3' of bubble wrap, taped and placed in yet another bag!  It's crazy.  My pile of packaging garbage took up more space than what I ordered, and that wasn't including the overall bubble wrap that filled the box!

Is this commonplace with Mouser?

Anthony

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Mouser packaging
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2014, 07:45:41 pm »
They cannot beat HP for packaging insanity. Look it up on The Register.

Offline ajb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2014, 08:00:03 pm »