Author Topic: starting a testing lab  (Read 2204 times)

Offline djacobowTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • takin' it apart since the 70's
starting a testing lab
« on: August 31, 2016, 09:04:54 pm »

For years, I've been mulling over the idea of going into business as a testing lab. In particular, I have some experience doing informal and precompliance testing of products for Energy Star certifications. I'm an EE and certainly understand the test methodologies and test equipment. Relative to some engineers I've worked with, I think I'm above-average (but by no means brilliant) in setting up meaningful and accurate test setups without obvious faults.

What I'm less clear about is:

- whether this is a viable business. Existing labs seem to do fine, and some like EMC labs seem booked solid in my area (though full-blown EMC seems a high bar to start out, what with chamber requirements, etc)
- how much capital it takes to get going. I think I have a decent sense of the type of gear I'd need to do, say, IEC 62301 (standby power) and similar tests, but I wonder what I'm missing
- how high is the effort to get certified? And how long would that take in best / average / worse case scenarios. How long would I be forced to bleed money with no income

Anyone here been down this road?

Offline uncle_bob

• Supporter
Re: starting a testing lab
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2016, 04:00:56 pm »
Hi