Author Topic: Need to budget? (Money stuff)  (Read 11569 times)

n45048

Need to budget? (Money stuff)
« on: September 22, 2014, 10:29:23 am »
I'm not normally one to plug products however this is well worth a look!

If you're living from pay to pay, looking forward to every payday or just want to sort out your finances, consider 'YNAB' (You Need a Budget). It's available on PC, Mac, Android and iOS from http://www.youneedabudget.com/ and there is a free 34-day trial. I would suggest checking out the video to explain it better than I can. There's no spam and no bullshit.

I've been using the software for a few years now. After trying everything from Excel sheets to Microsoft Money which lasted about a month, I came across this fantastic product (when it was just a project by a handful of people in a garage). I actually use YNAB every other day now and it's actually quite "fun" to use but also does the job fantastically. Since using YNAB, I now live 1 month ahead (last months pay covers this months bills and expenses). I'm even in the process of building my dream home in the Blue Mountains (Australia) as a result of the savings I was able to make.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2014, 10:25:10 pm by n45048 »

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Need to budget? (Money stuff)
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2014, 11:12:28 am »
If you are living "from pay to pay", probably the last thing you need is to spend more money. And that's doubly true for a product where the benefits can be replicated by cheaper and simpler tools such as paper and pencil.

Of course, if you haven't the discipline to use paper and pencil, you probably haven't the discipline to use a tool - and you would be better advised to develop that discipline!
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.