Author Topic: New Member, Please introduce yourself  (Read 1433922 times)

Offline Allan88

Introduce yourself thread!
« Reply #1525 on: August 28, 2014, 11:37:17 am »
Hi, I am new to eevblog. I am electrical engineer. I am very happy to have chosen to be a part of your community and I hope I enjoy and gathered informative information. Hopefully I learn something about them. I hope to become friends with you guys and have a nice day.
Allan
If you do not conquer self, you will be conquered by self.
"Napoleon Hill"

Offline RobEE

• Contributor
Re: New Member, Please introduce yourself
« Reply #1526 on: August 28, 2014, 10:33:30 pm »
Hello all,
My name is Robert. I spent some time in the US Air Force as am avionics technician doing maintenance and repair of aircraft communication, navigation and radar systems. Now I am going to school to be an EE.

Offline urlkrueger

• Contributor
« Reply #1527 on: August 29, 2014, 02:55:16 am »
Hello everybody.

When I was a kid I used to go to the local dump and bring home old radio's and eventually TV's when they became available and take them apart.  I learned a lot about what the various parts were and how they worked but I never did understand how to put them together to do anything interesting. 

Later I was trained by the U.S. Navy as an electronics tech and got to work on early digital and analog computers.  At that time a quad nand gate was a 3" X 4" PCB with a bunch of discrete transistors, resistors and capacitors to implement the logic function.  Later I got into the software side of things writing device drivers and such for mini and micro computers where the most complex chip was an adder and then later still into system administration.  The last big chunk of time in my working life was spent keeping your cell phone working.  (Yay !!!  No more on-call, no more all night conversions.)