Author Topic: New Member, Please introduce yourself  (Read 1430325 times)

Offline ken246810

Re: New Member, Please introduce yourself
« Reply #2675 on: February 05, 2020, 12:21:26 am »
I just registered today after a good while visiting the forum.
I am An electronics engineer I am in Scotland UK.

I have a decent electronics setup at home and at work, but my home setup is better than at work  :-DD

I recently got hold of a BK pvs10005 nice and cheap BUT BROKEN, it was an easy fix, it is a very interesting PSU.
at the moment I am hunting for a nice bench multimeter maybe dmm6500 or 34465a and I have spent a while reading up on them here

Offline Vizmiz

« Reply #2676 on: February 05, 2020, 01:58:39 pm »
Hello everyone, Feel free to call me John.
Electronics has always been interesting to me so I have decided to take the plunge and start learning it. Also trying to do it on as small a budget as I can by reusing materials that I have saved from the trash.

For now I am collecting what I can and setting up my little desktop lab.
    My power supply for 12 and 5v is from a salvaged computer PSU.
    Because of where I am getting my parts from I have ordered one of those component testers from Amazon.
    The multi-meter is a harbor freight special (Yes, I do plan to upgrade.)
    The soldering iron melts solder. (Not sure what more I can expect from it)
    Will be getting an oscilloscope when the opportunity comes up (looking into one of those pocket oscilloscope from Amazon)

Open to any advice seeing as how I'm really just making this all up as I go along and trying not to cook myself in the process.

Offline Szumi

• Contributor
« Reply #2677 on: February 05, 2020, 10:29:23 pm »
Played with electronics when I was a kid.  Spent four years in the USMC at the organizational level repairing radars in F4-j's back in the 70's.