Author Topic: New Member, Please introduce yourself  (Read 1433601 times)

Offline tesla500

• Regular Contributor
Re: New Member, Please introduce yourself
« Reply #50 on: February 20, 2010, 02:56:06 am »
Hi, I'm David, A 23-year-old from Vancouver, BC.

I got into electronics and making things way back, probably when I was about 5 or 6. My dad showed me how to make counters using 74* series logic chips. And just like Dave, I always annoyed my parents taking things apart  ;D Throughout high school, I was always building projects such as electric powered bicycles and go karts, and high voltage devices like Tesla coils.

After high school, I took Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology at BCIT. I now regret that, I should have taken an engineering degree program, but that's another story. During my free time a friend and I converted a Pontiac Firefly to electric drive.

Now, I work as a power electronics engineer at Delta-Q Technologies. They make battery chargers for golf carts and industrial vehicles like scissor lifts.

Lately my projects have been building a high power AC inverter for an electric car drive system, and a high-speed video camera

David

Offline Emyr

• Contributor
    • http://www.emyrderfel.co.uk/
« Reply #51 on: February 21, 2010, 04:58:35 pm »
With a BSc Computer Science under my belt and slowly becoming a zombie at my first programming job (one of two young webdevs at a small firm of solicitors) I recently purchased an Arduino starter kit to keep me busy. Coupled with an interest in cars, bikes and guitars I already have a few ideas to work on.

My first idea is to use the Arduino as glorified ADC feeding into my Asus eeePC to make an electronic dash for my Peugeot 306 TD (no ECU, no ODB port...)

Here's my first bit of soldering since school:

Copier fix'd!