Author Topic: New to high speed hardware design, should I worry  (Read 878 times)

Offline jonwilhelmjrTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
New to high speed hardware design, should I worry
« on: April 21, 2021, 02:35:29 am »
My manager just told me I will be in charge of a 5Ghz bandwidth ethernet passthrough board. He says it's just traces. So everyone knows I'm a fairly green engineer, my pcd experience is under 10 Mhz. Mostly arduino like designs with microchip and atmel 8 bit micros. My question for everyone should I be freaking out or is there books/videos I should binge read or watch? How do I give myself a crash course in GHz pcb layout? Is it just a manner of controlling the trace impedance and stay away from harmonics 1-10? Any wisdom or suggestions is appreciated. I look forward to this learning experience and I hope I don't hit a brick wall when running into this.

Offline gnuarm

• Super Contributor
Re: New to high speed hardware design, should I worry
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2021, 03:03:14 am »
Not sure what you mean about staying away from "harmonics 1-10"???  But if there are no chips on the board the main issues in running differential traces, which i assume you are working with at 5 GHz, is to control the impedance and maintain matched length.  If the board is just running traces between connectors and you have control over the placement, put the connectors parallel and assign pins that do not require crossovers.  Then matched length is simple.  Vias are also of concern at 5 GHz.  So these traces are ok.

/------
-----/ /-----
------/

These traces are not

o------
------/-------
-----o

Different lengths and unmatched vias, or vias at all if you can avoid them.