Author Topic: Low cost Office Transformation  (Read 1694 times)

Offline mswhin63Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Low cost Office Transformation
« on: February 06, 2013, 11:44:51 am »
For my first thread thought I would show a low income design for a workbench. 2 photos show the creation of a electronics workbench and an office table as well. I already have a workshop in the shed so I finally have a lot more room.

As my wife is on a Disability Pension and I am studying full time at Uni I needed something really cheap but the wood costs and other cost to make a comepletely new bench a beyond my financial capability. So what did I do.

First I went online to purchase an Office Table from Graysonline from the Perth distribution and saw a reasonable straight office table. To say I won the bid is an understatement, Bidding went to a massive $19.00 OMG and with fees etc. which actually quite high totalled $21.00. Not bad for an office desk. The centre board gives these good stability but I could easily modify it to cater for loads if need be. The corner desk I already had which cost me a massive $10.00 a few years back from Ross's Auction in Perth.

I needed height to stand while work so I created a simple Chipboard melamine stand that raised the desk to my belly button. I went to Bunnings and for $50.00 bought enough chipboard to create a raiser for the whole table. It is still stable too. So for a total of about $75.00 including screws I now have a functional electronic workbench. I do not intend to keep the files in there, that will eventually be populated with test gear.

I apologise that I do not have construction notes. Most of my work is done from in the head. Total time to set-up and re-arrange the office 5 hours. Now finally after 6 years trying to build, fix and carry on paperwork on a single table the efficiency of my operations should increase.  :-+

Offline houdini

• Regular Contributor
Re: Low cost Office Transformation