Author Topic: OT: Backing up video files long term  (Read 44706 times)

Offline magetoo

• Frequent Contributor
Re: OT: Backing up video files long term
« Reply #50 on: July 05, 2014, 10:45:26 am »
I design those things for a living. None of what you are saying is true.

Do you have a reference you could point to?

Asking because I've been hearing the exact same things that mojo-chan is saying: hard drives nowadays work not because they are error free, but because error correction is so good that the drive can cope with the inevitable faults; that those faults are a part of normal operation; that reading through a drive's sectors is necessary to spot "bits that are getting weak" (hand waving furiously) so that the controller can do its remapping magic, etc.

Would be nice to have something more to go on than "well, a guy on a forum said".

Offline magetoo

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #51 on: July 05, 2014, 11:15:35 am »
For published episodes, maybe archive.org could be an option?  I know many people seem to be using them for video podcasts.

Since you have a ton of them, I would think that there might be some way to solve the problem of getting the bits there other than uploading (like mailing drives).  Their FAQ says to contact them, but doesn't go into details.

Offline EEVblogTopic starter

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #52 on: July 05, 2014, 11:22:30 am »
For published episodes, maybe archive.org could be an option?

Never looked into it.
Although isn't that public only?
I consider my raw video files private, and not something I'd generally publicly release as a whole.

Offline magetoo

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #53 on: July 05, 2014, 11:48:08 am »
Yes, it's not an option for everything.  But for things that are public anyway, the EEVblog episodes, it would be free backup.

(And we viewers get another place to get them from.)