Author Topic: Petition to protect the title "Engineer" in the UK...  (Read 43653 times)

Offline IntegratedValve

• Regular Contributor
  • !
Re: Petition to protect the title "Engineer" in the UK...
« Reply #150 on: September 18, 2013, 05:11:14 pm »
And if you had two equally qualified candidates one of whom had a passion for the subject and one who didn't.....?

The better personally fit for the work environment.

Some of the things that engineering students such as myself learned on a formal level that most self-taught people don't touch -

Statics
Chemistry
Physics I & II
College algebra
Trigonometry
Calculus I & II
Other physical science electives
Electrical power
FORTRAN (yes this was 1980's, but I adapted and learned C as needed on my own)
Microprocessors
Digital systems
RF transmission lines
etc.

And the other things such as English, humanities, history, sociology - right, all useless to some people here. But as I said this is not trade school - it's an EDUCATION.

This is not even close to qualify anyone to be EE. What qualifies you is your demonstrated work experience and knowledge, which can be gained only by making something that works and preferably sells.

Offline IntegratedValve

• Regular Contributor
  • !
« Reply #151 on: September 18, 2013, 05:17:16 pm »
Lets go extreme here. A university professor of EE with 40 years experience in teaching and researching...or a self-taught enthusiast who has been designing RF mixed signal ICs for 40 years? OR do I need someone to write me some peer-reviewed wishful thinking papers or someone who design a working product?

Online xrunner

• Super Contributor
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>???
« Reply #152 on: September 18, 2013, 05:30:29 pm »

This is not even close to qualify anyone to be EE. What qualifies you is your demonstrated work experience and knowledge, which can be gained only by making something that works and preferably sells.