Author Topic: Piles of Tesla owners stranded at charge stations abandons their EV's.  (Read 17640 times)

Online mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Piles of Tesla owners stranded at charge stations abandons their EV's.
« Reply #75 on: January 16, 2024, 05:14:45 pm »
I'm honnestly curious: why is that BS? 'Regular' diesel craps out at about -5C. With additives, maybe -20C.. That's what I was told, have things changed?

I'm not an expert about diesel vehicles, but as far as I know, and I have owned a diesel vehicle here and operated it without issues down to -30degC, there are winter grades that go significantly below -20, something like -35 is not a problem if everything's right both with the fuel and the vehicle. Yet in real world, not everything is perfect. Failures with diesel vehicles - and not only failures to start, but actually failures after driving for some time - go steeply up below -30degC. It's not 100% failure, but even 1% failure rate is pretty bad when you have thousands and thousands of lambs commuting at the same time. At something relatively mild weather like -15..-20degC, the only way to make them fail is to erroneously use summer grade diesel.
ISTR that in some very cold regioons, it's common to have mains power available at (truck?) parking spaces for engine block heaters
Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs

Online PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #76 on: January 16, 2024, 05:22:04 pm »

Offline radar_macgyver

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #77 on: January 16, 2024, 05:25:37 pm »