Author Topic: Proof that software as service/cloud based, will never work for long term ...  (Read 93820 times)

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living

Offline Karel

• Super Contributor

Online coppice

• Super Contributor
Re: Proof that software as service/cloud based, will never work for long term ...
« Reply #528 on: September 10, 2022, 10:27:30 pm »
Google Cloud IoT Core goes on the end-of-life list: https://www.itnews.com.au/news/google-cloud-iot-core-goes-on-the-end-of-life-list-583990

Who could possibly have seen that coming.
It launched in September 2017 and it will close down in August 2023. That's longer than Google keep most things alive.  :)

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
Re: Proof that software as service/cloud based, will never work for long term ...
« Reply #529 on: September 26, 2022, 02:18:08 pm »
If you think it's a good idea to rely on cloud storage: https://support.google.com/photos/thread/180787712/corrupted-photos

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #530 on: September 26, 2022, 02:32:08 pm »
To be fair to Google (had to cross my fingers when I typed that) it looks like the original photos are OK and it's just the app's cached version.

Offline eti

• Super Contributor
  • !
  • MOD: a.k.a Unlokia, glossywhite, iamwhoiam etc
« Reply #531 on: September 27, 2022, 06:35:41 am »
The only reliable cloud service is water storage.

The following users thanked this post: madires, bitwelder

Offline bpiphany

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #532 on: September 27, 2022, 10:42:33 am »

Isn't it a bit random where it falls out?

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #533 on: September 27, 2022, 12:16:49 pm »

What, not even iCloud? You'll have to turn in your badge.

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
« Reply #534 on: September 29, 2022, 07:02:47 pm »
And another Google service will be shut down: