Author Topic: Rigol DS1052E for Audio Work  (Read 7702 times)

Offline EEBlackSheepTopic starter

• Contributor
Rigol DS1052E for Audio Work
« on: October 01, 2010, 02:24:44 pm »
Hi gang, I am a independent builder of audio amps.  I have been primarily using a Tek 2204 and a Picscope 3224 for my audio work and they have been great.  The analog scopes are fine, but dont do FFT, and the  PC based scope is a bit of a pain, being tethered to a PC.

I realize the FFT on the Rigol is a bit limited, but I wonder if it would be suitable for my work. I dont use the FFT for distortion analysis, but I do use it for filter analysis of tone controls etc.  I inject white/pink noise, let the pc scope capture data for about 30 seconds, and then look at the frequency graph.  Sometimes rather than noise, I use an audio sweep generator.  To be able to plot a decent freq response curve, I had to set the PC code to capture max values.  I often looksed at data from 40Hz up to about 9kHz.

Would the FFT in the Rigol be suitable for this type of work?

Offline migsantiago

• Frequent Contributor
    • MigSantiago's Web Site
Re: Rigol DS1052E for Audio Work
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 02:37:08 pm »
Hello. The only problem I've found with the Rigol FFT is that it sometimes shows aliased frequencies. You have to adjust the sampling and timing controls in order to avoid it.

alm

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2010, 06:52:31 pm »