Author Topic: RBMK nuclear reactor simulator down load  (Read 14068 times)

Offline S. Petrukhin

• Super Contributor
Re: RBMK nuclear reactor simulator down load
« Reply #25 on: November 26, 2020, 09:52:57 am »
Personally I suspect that both designs were really about Pu production, with the power as a nice biproduct.

This and powering Russian Woodpecker military radar conveniently located few dozen miles from Chernobyl power plant.

The radar is not Russian for a long time and has long been turned off and almost destroyed.

Yep, cause they now have much better ways of detecting missiles from the US.

The massive radar was still quite an engineering feat at the time and the powers it operated at was insane.

Yes, there are modern means. And that radar is now located on the territory of another country, whose government is extremely hostile to Russia.

I'm not a defense expert, but as far as I know (may be wrong), we now have a different defense strategy: we do not build an anti - missile defense system-it is not able to protect. But we have missiles that cannot be stopped, and we are announcing this so that no one doubts a retaliatory strike and has no idea of striking - there will be a devastating retaliatory strike for it.
And sorry for my English.

Offline vad

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #26 on: November 26, 2020, 10:27:35 am »
I'm not a defense expert, but as far as I know (may be wrong), we now have a different defense strategy: we do not build an anti - missile defense system-it is not able to protect.
You are wrong. Russia built and operates anti-ballistic missile defense system ABM-4 Gorgon.

Offline S. Petrukhin

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: November 26, 2020, 11:19:44 am »
I'm not a defense expert, but as far as I know (may be wrong), we now have a different defense strategy: we do not build an anti - missile defense system-it is not able to protect.
You are wrong. Russia built and operates anti-ballistic missile defense system ABM-4 Gorgon.