Author Topic: Rigol DS1052E blank during startup  (Read 2398 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline prysm

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Rigol DS1052E blank during startup
« on: October 11, 2011, 09:23:32 pm »
Hi

My Rigol ds1052e sometimes gives me a blank screen with all the buttons lit when I turn it on. I have not tried to wait to see if it will give me the loading screen, but power cycling seem to get me to the loading screen. It seems to be intermittent, because sometimes it gives me the loading screen almost immediately when turning the scope on. Anyone else who owns a unhacked rigol can tell me how fast is it usually to boot ?

regards
prysm
 

Offline prysm

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Rigol DS1052E blank during startup
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 01:02:26 am »
Hi all

i did a bit more testing this morning. When I leave my oscilloscope unplugged overnight it goes through the following cycle

1. Turn on and I see a blank screen, backlight on all buttons are lit
2. after 1 min the blank screen turns into a random cyclic noise like a misaligned CRT. no discernible images is apparent
3. after 3min I do a power cycle and it power up normally with loading screen

Anyone else experiencing this?

regards
prysm
 

Offline RCMR

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 405
Re: Rigol DS1052E blank during startup
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 01:10:01 am »
Sounds as if you've got an intermittent fault condition -- is it temperature sensitive?

A BGA reflow in order perhaps?  :(
 

Offline prysm

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Rigol DS1052E blank during startup
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2011, 02:56:14 am »
I dont know if it is due to temp, but its possible. I only use this at room temp however.

I just ordered this oscilloscope so I am thinking of sending it in for troubleshooting. I just wanted to check whether this is a common problem.

 

Offline Psi

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7371
  • Country: nz
Re: Rigol DS1052E blank during startup
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2011, 03:38:31 am »
yeah, sound like there is something intermittently wrong with your one.

When i turn mine on, it always takes ~1.5 seconds to get to the rigol logo screen.
For about half a second before that i get some random horizontal lines on the screen, then the rigol logo appears.

Sometimes, if i turn it off then on again soon, the random lines are replaced by the previous image that was on the screen before i switched if off. So i think the lines/afterimage is just whatever is in video memory when its powered on.

« Last Edit: October 12, 2011, 03:43:31 am by Psi »
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf