Author Topic: Sagan Jones, We know you can do better than him...  (Read 16230 times)

Online G0HZU

• Super Contributor
Re: Sagan Jones, We know you can do better than him...
« Reply #25 on: January 22, 2015, 07:01:16 pm »
Didn't they teach you about mho units (1/ohm). You add them for parallel resistors.

Sure, but everybody to get the parallel resitor was doing R1*R2/(R2+R1), I never saw somebody pressing/using the 1/x key.

Yes, it's an efficient and intuitive way to do it because the 1/x key on an old school calculator acts as a rapid conversion to/from mho. You can also use it with series capacitors or parallel inductors.

In the real world we have access to calculators and this method is therefore more efficient than the classic formula the kid was using. I've been using this 1/x key method for many years and once you have used it a few times it kind of sticks. I hoped a few people would not have seen it before so I thought it was worth posting on here :)

« Last Edit: January 22, 2015, 07:15:36 pm by G0HZU »

Offline zapta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: January 22, 2015, 09:31:05 pm »
Apparently mho units are also called Siemens. Never heard of it before.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siemens_%28unit%29

Offline Howardlong

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: January 22, 2015, 09:37:19 pm »

Showing your age  ;)
« Last Edit: January 23, 2015, 12:06:53 am by Howardlong »

Offline rob77

• Super Contributor
« Reply #28 on: January 23, 2015, 07:19:37 am »

Showing your age  ;)

it's not about age, it's about location...

i never heard about "mho" before (ohm in reverse ?) , but Siemens is a widely used unit over here in Europe.

Offline zapta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #29 on: January 23, 2015, 07:38:00 am »

Showing your age  ;)

Yes, too old, Siemens wad not born yet when I was in college.

;-)

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #30 on: January 23, 2015, 07:41:41 am »