Poll

Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?

Yes
82 (56.2%)
No
38 (26%)
It Depends
26 (17.8%)

Total Members Voted: 145

Author Topic: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?  (Read 36856 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Len

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 515
  • Country: ca
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #150 on: September 29, 2015, 01:55:48 pm »
After this week's Mailbag, I bet Dave is looking at the office rates in Iceland. :)
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19363
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #151 on: September 29, 2015, 04:20:46 pm »
Said it before, will say it again:
Australia is ridiculously expensive. Sell everything, move to Taiwan/Singapore. You will be able to afford a small mansion with symmetric 100Mbit and top English speaking school for Sagan.
Singapore is one of the most expensive places to live in the world, and English standards in Taiwan are poor. Neither suggestion makes a lot of sense.
Penang in Malaysia is a good place. A tropical island in the ocean with all the top notch tech companies of the world around the corner.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline ivan747

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2020
  • Country: us
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #152 on: September 29, 2015, 04:22:43 pm »
But you don't own those, do you? If you do, move the hell outta there.

Yes, I own them. Why would owning them mean I should "move the hell out"?

You can rent those (or the current lab at least) and it helps to pay for the larger lab's rent.
 

Offline XynxNet

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 183
  • Country: de
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #153 on: September 29, 2015, 06:38:27 pm »
Well what would you do with all the tiny rooms?

I'd say look for a place with windows in your main working area.
 

Offline ez24

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3091
  • Country: us
  • L.D.A.
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #154 on: September 29, 2015, 06:42:00 pm »
I suggest Dave move to

310 De Guigne Dr.
Sunnyvale, CA 94085

YouTube and Website Electronic Resources ------>  https://www.eevblog.com/forum/other-blog-specific/a/msg1341166/#msg1341166
 

Offline wkb

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 540
  • Country: nl
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #155 on: October 06, 2015, 05:38:52 pm »
I guess Dave needs a new solar system.  With 48 hours in a given day  :=\
 

Offline Maxlor

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 564
  • Country: ch
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #156 on: October 06, 2015, 09:22:47 pm »
I guess Dave needs a new solar system.  With 48 hours in a given day  :=\
Feasibly in a window-less office/lab :D

Seriously though, never mind the space, access to daylight would be enough of a motivator to make me consider moving. I like natural light *a lot* more than lamps.
 

Offline isaiahA

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: us
    • Isaiahs website
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #157 on: October 06, 2015, 11:08:37 pm »
the bigger the better
isaiahA
 

Online EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31218
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #158 on: October 06, 2015, 11:31:44 pm »
We decided to pass on that big space I showed on the video. Both SWMBO and myself decided the owner was way too dodgy, kinda like this:

 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19363
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #159 on: October 06, 2015, 11:57:40 pm »
We decided to pass on that big space I showed on the video.
:-+ Good decission! I would not have taken it just for the lack of windows.  :scared: Who designs buildings like that?  :palm:
Yeah it would be a great space for women with webcams but that is a different business  >:D
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline felixd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: pl
Re: Should Dave Get a Bigger Lab?
« Reply #160 on: October 09, 2015, 11:26:07 pm »
Is basement space included in the floor area?

What basement space?

You said not allowed to use more than 10% of the house for business. Basement is the floor under the ground floor, don't you guys have basements in houses in Australia? It may or may not be counted as living space, some houses have huge basements that can be finished and used for a Lab.

That's what I'm doing in my place right now ;)



and my window view

@Dave: Move to Poland, it's WAY MUCH cheaper than UK and better weather :)
« Last Edit: October 09, 2015, 11:30:36 pm by felixd »
---
Pawel 'felixd' Wojciechowski
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf