Author Topic: Soldering standards on YouTube  (Read 10001 times)

Offline CJayTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Soldering standards on YouTube
« on: December 11, 2018, 02:01:22 pm »
It can't be just me that twitches and is developing a nervous tic watching some of the soldering in repair, build or refurb videos on youtube surely?

I've been sat here today watching two different channels and one is telling me, while soldeirng abominably badly, that they solder like that to prevent dry joints, the other, yeesh, we used to call it pigeon shit soldering when I was a telly tech...

The following users thanked this post: SeanB, cdev, wraper, Ian.M, tooki, newbrain

Online tooki

• Super Contributor
Re: Soldering standards on YouTube
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2018, 03:32:33 pm »
Nope, not just you. It seems to me that soldering, for some reason, is a thing that everyone wants to do a tutorial on, no matter how poor their skills are — and despite the presence of some excellent tutorials already (PACE, Dave, John Gammell).

The following users thanked this post: wraper

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2018, 03:48:58 pm »
Also when you mention that their soldering skills are crap, you get treated by others as if you are telling blasphemy. I once made a comment on this forum about Louis Rossmann soldering skills after he was mentioned by another member as example to learn from. Basically I told you could learn to repair but for soldering look somewhere else.  It resulted in shitfest  :palm:.

The following users thanked this post: tooki

Offline SparkyFX

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2018, 04:14:54 pm »
It can't be just me that twitches and is developing a nervous tic watching some of the soldering in repair, build or refurb videos on youtube surely?