Author Topic: Some general labor (US) stats for Electrical Engineers.  (Read 8419 times)

Offline bluejonahTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Heyooo
Some general labor (US) stats for Electrical Engineers.
« on: July 31, 2014, 06:17:37 pm »
I was curios about what the employment situation was for Electrical Engineers over time. Mostly, I was feeling unsure about my choice to study EE and needed some reassurance. So, I went to the Bureau of Labor Statistics and did some research. I pulled out some data going back to 1999 ( I felt that was good enough; and I'm lazy and didn't want to go further lol) and charted it in excel. Maybe others will find this reassuring or interesting. Here they are.

Offline nerdyHippy

• Contributor
Re: Some general labor (US) stats for Electrical Engineers.
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2014, 05:48:03 am »
While as a recent graduate I agree that the median and percentile data is reassuring, I don't think you can rely on it for anything much more specific than reassurance. Geographic differences play a huge role in the US EE payscale (also COL, of course), and any analysis that ignores that is only useful for a ballpark at best.

Does this analysis take unemployment into account?

What exactly does employment vs medium wage plot?
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 05:49:51 am by nerdyHippy »

Offline Rick Law

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2014, 07:06:10 am »
...Does this analysis take unemployment into account?...

Given the way those numbers are formulated, what difference would that make?  Our (USA) unemployment counting method broke a long time ago.  We don't count long term unemployed.  Not counting long term unemployed used to work within reason when that number was small.  Now we have long term unemployment sky high.