Author Topic: Switching from R&D Engineer to Validation Engineer Concerns  (Read 4305 times)

Offline aiq25Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Switching from R&D Engineer to Validation Engineer Concerns
« on: December 14, 2015, 03:33:59 pm »
Hello. I need some career advice and I'm not sure where to turn to. I'm still relatively new in my field.

I'm currently an R&D Engineer. My job is almost split between electrical hardware design and embedded software engineering. About 6 months ago, after a lot of thought, I decided to switch jobs. I been working at my current employer for about 3.5 years. Initially I was looking into either embedded software or hardware engineer jobs. But after a lot of thought I came to the conclusion I really like hardware design and a little bit of embedded software. I like designing circuits, simulating them, testing hardware, debugging and trying to find solutions. etc... I enjoy embedded software but not as the primary focus of my job. So I narrowed my search for hardware engineering jobs.

I was contacted about a Hardware Assurance (Validation) Engineer position where it will include some hardware engineering. I decided to go interview for the position and the interview went well. I like the job description and the tasks I will be performing. Being in R&D I don't have much experience working directly with customers or production intent products. I received an offer and decided to accept it.

After talking with another recruiter however I'm beginning to get a little nervous. This recruiter did have some bias in giving me advice. Basically I'm worried that if I want to switch to a hardware design engineering position in the future, I might not be able to because of the validation experience. Is this really a concern? I only have 3.5 years of professional experience and 22 months of electrical engineering internship experience.