Author Topic: Technical misnomers, ambiguous or plain incorrect terms in general usage.  (Read 30492 times)

Offline rsjsouza

• Super Contributor
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
Quite common in Brazil were the following:
- Naming "CPU" the entire desktop box;
- Using Hertz as the unit for inductance (opposed to Henries)
- Calling inductors as "RF shock" (choque de RF)
- Using lightbulbs' units as "candles" (velas) instead of Watts

There are others I don't recall.
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com

Oh, the "whys" of the datasheets... The information is there not to be an axiomatic truth, but instead each speck of data must be slowly inhaled while carefully performing a deep search inside oneself to find the true metaphysical sense...

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
I hate hearing the phrases......   "AC Current", or "DC Current".....  >:(
'AC' means 'Alternating Current', so 'AC Current' means "Alternating Current Current"  Aarrgh....

That's like PAT testing - Portable Appliance Testing testing

I'll be right back, I need to get some money from the ATM machine.....

Ah you mean a Automated Teller Machine, Machine
And you only get money from it after you enter your Personal Identification Number Number.

Online MK14

• Super Contributor
'AC' means 'Alternating Current', so 'AC Current' means "Alternating Current Current"  Aarrgh....

And you only get money from it after you enter your Personal Identification Number Number.

And it verifies that PIN number, by using an IC circuit (Integrated Circuit Circuit).

The circuit is built on a PCB board (Printed Circuit Board board).

The PCB was probably designed on a PC Computer (Personal Computer Computer), which was originally based on an IBM Machine (International Business Machine Machine).

Anyway, Enough Enough Enough of This This, PUN PUN like thing.   ;D

Offline Circlotron

• Super Contributor