Author Topic: Technical misnomers, ambiguous or plain incorrect terms in general usage.  (Read 30482 times)

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
"Entreé" as used in the US - the word means entrance. Hence, it is the appetizer and not the main course.
What of "Pièce de résistance"? Many English speakers use it to mean "the cherry on the cake", but it actually means the main course, the thing that provides sustenance.

"Manufactured" comes from Latin that literally means "hand made".  But somewhere along the line, as it was used in English over the centuries, it transformed to mean something closer to "mass produced by machine".
There are many examples of words that mean the opposite in Latin. For example, "egregious" comes from a Latin word for praiseworthy.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
"Entreé" as used in the US - the word means entrance. Hence, it is the appetizer and not the main course.

"Panini" is the Italian word for "sandwiches".  Plural.  It's incorrect to say "I'd like to order a panini".  If you only want one, you want a panino.

Similarly, “pierogi” is the plural of the Polish word for the yummy dumpling, even though people will order “a pierogi” instead of “a pierog.” And to make it worse, the yutzes will go into Veselka on 2nd Ave in NYC and say, “can i have a half-dozen pierogies?” The servers wisely say nothing.

Offline JohnnyMalaria

• Super Contributor
    • Enlighten Scientific LLC
What of "Pièce de résistance"? Many English speakers use it to mean "the cherry on the cake", but it actually means the main course, the thing that provides sustenance.

You prove my point. The US uses it the way you say but it's not what the word means. Most, if not all, of the rest of the English-speaking world use it in the way that it actually means, i.e., the course that precedes the main one. BTW, I've never heard of it used as "the cherry on the cake".

Offline vk6zgo

• Super Contributor