Author Topic: Youtube-dl front end  (Read 4084 times)

Offline Ampera

• Super Contributor
    • Ampera's Forums
Re: Youtube-dl front end
« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2018, 08:08:32 pm »
"borderline illegal"

Something's either illegal or it's not. As an American, I believe I am within my rights to capture whatever traffic can be legally sent to me at any instant.

Well, it's illegal then, American or not.
YouTube license is pretty clear with that: no download allowed (unless YouTube offers you a download feature for the specified video). Also, no add blocker allowed.

As stated, I'm not a lawyer and work off what I know, but I believe you may be confusing a civil agreement and the breaking of a law.

Licenses list terms of service, upon the breach of which (unless it is a signed, notarized document detailing the civil promises made to a body, upon the breach of which no law has been broken, yet you have violated a civil agreement and can be sued and be required to pay damages or, if applicable, submit to some other criteria) all YouTube can really do is deny you access to their services, unless you have also committed some other crime against them.

The capturing and keeping of packets legally sent to you for personal use I do not believe is illegal in the same way capturing and keeping television (formerly signals now digital data) content for personal use. It's the reason, as I said, to my knowledge, you can tape a radio station and use the recording for your own personal uses (defining personal uses as, consuming the content again without redistribution).