Author Topic: I now have faster Interwebs  (Read 15154 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GeoffS

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1267
  • Country: au
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #50 on: January 15, 2013, 12:48:36 am »
2 years ago in Sydney, I had the same cable speeds as Dave posted.
Since my move to southern Tasmania, I have ADSL which can reach 8Mbps on a good day.

I do a lot less computer stuff than I used to so don't really miss the speed, except when downloading a new release of Linux.  :)

 

Offline lewis

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 703
  • Country: gb
  • Nullius in verba
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #51 on: January 15, 2013, 01:11:50 pm »
Naaaaaaarrfuk:


Not to mention TalkCrap.

My phone goes faster.

You'll like this then - this is what I get in the workshop. Proper ruuuuuural buh!

I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed or numbered.
 

Offline Chalky

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 93
  • Country: nz
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #52 on: January 16, 2013, 08:13:59 am »
My results are not notable.  Using Orcon ISP in New Zealand.  NZ$75/month.  Is naked DSL, but with a VOIP phone service that has free national landline calls.  :=\
 

Offline peter.mitchell

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1568
  • Country: au
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #53 on: January 17, 2013, 06:23:16 am »
I decided to give a hand and sent a post into social bookmarks. I hope the popularity will rise in.
I'm not going to lie; I literally have no idea what you mean.
 

benprestwood

  • Guest
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #54 on: February 02, 2013, 10:19:38 pm »
  horrible internet in adelaide
 

Offline carloscuev

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: mx
    • Spanish Freescale Developers Forum
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #55 on: February 03, 2013, 10:26:20 am »
This is what I get from Telmex in Mexico City for about 30 USD



:(
 

Offline mianchen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #56 on: February 06, 2013, 01:56:55 am »
mine is '100Mbps' Virgin Media...... never seen it reach 95M+  :(




This is what I'm getting in my parents house in China for 80 RMB (~8 GBP/12USD)/month atm. Half of the internet outside of China is 'harmonised (blocked)' by the authority. I have to use the VPN I set up back in the UK to gain access to FB and Youtube etc.  |O

From what I've heard - they apparently have already got the infrastructure to provide much faster (ie. >100Mbps) through cables (most homes have cable TVs these days), but they don't do it so they can make more money?? :-// Anyway the fastest broadband one can get in non-major cities is 8Mbps :< which doesn't make much sense
 

Offline madires

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5909
  • Country: de
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #57 on: February 06, 2013, 01:04:23 pm »
This is what I'm getting in my parents house in China for 80 RMB (~8 GBP/12USD)/month atm. Half of the internet outside of China is 'harmonised (blocked)' by the authority. I have to use the VPN I set up back in the UK to gain access to FB and Youtube etc.  |O

Someone told me that they started to block VPNs also :-(
 

Offline (In)Sanity

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Country: us
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #58 on: February 06, 2013, 01:35:49 pm »
From the network I manage:



and from my home network:



I've had to resort to blocking certain YouTube servers at home in order to get it to fall over to backups which are much faster.   It appears that I share servers with too many other people.  My downloads are always fast,  but YouTube is dog slow if I allow them to use the servers they want me to.

Jeff
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf