Author Topic: The Rigol DS1052E  (Read 536714 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chet T16

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 522
  • Country: ie
    • Retro-Renault
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #800 on: May 04, 2011, 08:23:14 am »
Make sure you haven't set the pc connection mode to pictbridge, i did that while playing first and then couldn't connect via ultrascope. The scope was actually installing automatically as an imaging device and it was giving the same two options you mentioned in ultrascope.

I just checked and the setting is under Utility > IO Setting > USB Device. It should be set to Computer, not PictBridge
Chet
Paid Electron Wrestler
 

Offline flyingfrancisco

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #801 on: May 04, 2011, 10:58:50 am »
Hi Chet
I think I am one step closer because of your help. I had forgotten to mention that when I would plug in the USB wire it would see the scope as a camera. I corrected the Utilities setting to USB Comupter as you mentioneed. Now when I connect to the scope I have 3 options. The first 2 that I mentioned and now a USB followed by some numbers. When I click on that option I do not get an error but nothing appears on the screen of ultrascope. I have removed both Ultrascope and Visa  reinstalled both but nothing changes . Anymore suggestins?
Thx
f
 

Offline Chet T16

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 522
  • Country: ie
    • Retro-Renault
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #802 on: May 04, 2011, 11:14:12 am »
Try deleting the camera too?
Chet
Paid Electron Wrestler
 

Offline flyingfrancisco

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #803 on: May 04, 2011, 11:14:49 am »
Hi Chet
Eureka!
Thanks for your help. Ultrascope is now working and finally I can continue with the conversion process.  I also apologize to all that I have offended for posting in multiple forums. I am new to online forums and obviously not an expert as most of you appear to be. Thx to all that  replied to my panic state.

flyingfrancisco
 

Offline flyingfrancisco

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #804 on: May 04, 2011, 12:47:21 pm »
Hi all !
Another converted DS1053E . Thanks to everyone who has contributed but particularly to George  who stood on the shoulders of giants and was able to keep his balance.  ????????? ????

flyingfrancisco
 

Offline torch

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 340
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #805 on: May 05, 2011, 06:59:47 am »
Which version of Ultrascope finally worked? (00.01.07 or 00.01.08?)
 

Offline flyingfrancisco

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #806 on: May 05, 2011, 12:09:35 pm »
It was Chet T16 that came up with the answer to my problem. In Utilities the setting was incorrect "Utility > IO Setting > USB Device. It should be set to Computer, not PictBridge" It was seeing the scope as a camera. I am pretty sure that the version of Ultrascope had no influence finally.
Regards
 

Offline tonva

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #807 on: May 13, 2011, 08:23:47 pm »
congratulation! you made it continuing again until we see another 2.06 firmware ;)

I hope the George's hack will work for longer time, as Rigol guys can not do too much with header.
Expecting they want the old firmware be able to upgrade, the header format will remain unchanged.
Great work, George!
 

Offline johnmx

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: pt
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #808 on: May 13, 2011, 11:34:31 pm »
I received my DS1052E this week. I’m amazed with its functionalities for such a cheap scope. The ‘Alternate Trigger’ is a must!! It’s like having two oscilloscopes in one package (with some time limitations of course).
Very nice!
Best regards,
johnmx
 

Offline A Hellene

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 601
  • Country: gr
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #809 on: May 14, 2011, 02:15:46 am »
I hope the George's hack will work for longer time, as Rigol guys can not do too much with header.
Expecting they want the old firmware be able to upgrade, the header format will remain unchanged.
Great work, George!
Thank you, tonva!

I have just updated my post with extra information.


-George
Hi! This is George; and I am three and a half years old!
(This was one of my latest realisations, now in my early fifties!...)
 

Offline krater

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: de
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #810 on: June 09, 2011, 02:02:03 am »
hello,

i wrote a IDA Pro plugin for Blackfin cpu (click). Maybee someone is interested in reverse engineering the rigol scope...


cheers,
krater
« Last Edit: June 09, 2011, 02:19:30 am by krater »
"it was working yesterday.  hmmm.  maybe the vendor FTDI'd me via a windows update..."
 

Offline dimlow

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 301
  • Country: gb
  • Likes to be thought of as
    • Dimlow Ponders
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #811 on: July 11, 2011, 09:09:23 am »
It was never confirmed.
 

Offline krater

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: de
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #812 on: July 13, 2011, 02:55:46 pm »
it uses the zlib, so someone can think there is more open source software used...
i don't think so, there are no indications thats used linux.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2011, 03:16:37 pm by krater »
"it was working yesterday.  hmmm.  maybe the vendor FTDI'd me via a windows update..."
 

Offline pen_tium

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #813 on: October 14, 2011, 02:53:52 am »
How can I chang the DS1102E 02.05 SP2 return to DS1052E 02.02 SP2?  :-[
 

Offline Hydrawerk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2399
  • Country: 00
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #814 on: May 26, 2013, 03:29:05 pm »
Why is the trace on the screen yellow while the channel 1 is marked orange??
Amazing machines. https://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)
 

Offline Wytnucls

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2962
  • Country: be
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #815 on: May 26, 2013, 04:01:51 pm »
Because, yellow doesn't stand out very well on beige, unlike the traces on a black screen. Orange does and is close enough to yellow to avoid any confusion. Was that trivial enough?
« Last Edit: May 26, 2013, 04:05:07 pm by Wytnucls »
 

Offline Hydrawerk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2399
  • Country: 00
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #816 on: November 13, 2013, 10:56:07 pm »
I found this DS1102D at school lab. All the small knobs are cracked. The fan is loud, but acceptable. The XY mode works very weird. Worse than that old HP 54600 scope...


The XY mode often gives bad frequency readouts. And it seems to be crippled.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2013, 11:02:32 pm by Hydrawerk »
Amazing machines. https://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)
 

Offline Hydrawerk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2399
  • Country: 00
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #817 on: November 13, 2013, 11:09:12 pm »
The XY behaviour is similar to this rebadged Rigol sold as Agilent DSO1022A.
Amazing machines. https://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)
 

Offline saturation

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4788
  • Country: us
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #818 on: November 14, 2013, 02:35:11 pm »
See:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/blog/changing-the-rigol-ds1052e-to-ds1102e-using-usb-the-dummy-guide/msg33581/#msg33581

XY has limits but the video you show isn't a bug, but the result of its slow scan rate and the scale used.

« Last Edit: November 14, 2013, 02:37:16 pm by saturation »
Best Wishes,

 Saturation
 

Offline Hydrawerk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2399
  • Country: 00
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #819 on: November 21, 2013, 09:54:56 am »
Well, that old HP 54600 had no problems with a 100MHz signal in XY mode. Turning the timebase (horizontal) knob has no effect.
While at that Rigol the XY mode is affected by horizontal scale knob and my the memory length setting... Users know about this issue. But it was new for me.
Amazing machines. https://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)
 

Offline MartinL

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Which firmware version changed the waveform format?
« Reply #820 on: January 20, 2014, 02:20:26 am »
I'm trying to work out which firmware version introduced a protocol change.

Please see this thread if you can help by checking your own device's response:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-ds1000de-which-firmware-version-changed-the-waveform-format/

Thanks!
 

Offline canibalimao

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • Country: pt
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #821 on: January 17, 2016, 01:42:56 pm »
Guys, I'm here with an "existential doubt": is this rigol still a good buy, or it's better to spend 80€ more on the newer DS1054Z? For now, I don't have any ideas of give use to all the 4 channels of the 1054, but I don't know the use I'll give to the scope in the future and I'm afraid of this 80€ saving that could eventually cost more in a few months...


Just for a final note, I'm about to finish my course in EE this summer.
 

Offline saturation

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4788
  • Country: us
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #822 on: January 19, 2016, 03:02:46 pm »
The Z is better all around bang for buck for new buys.  My 1052e does what I need so no need for another scope, but on passing I notice more QC issues with 1000s after 2011, so the older generation were also built better.
Best Wishes,

 Saturation
 

Offline canibalimao

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • Country: pt
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #823 on: January 19, 2016, 03:09:36 pm »
Thanks for that. So the Z version is the better choise, despite all the drawbacks and the price difference.
 

Offline saturation

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4788
  • Country: us
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #824 on: January 19, 2016, 03:36:34 pm »
Yes, the Z has bugs as well as production QC issues, and the 1000 series has QC issues but less bugs.  But overall the advantages of the Z series outweigh its faults.  Wherever you are in the world, buy it locally to you, to avoid warranty hassles.

Thanks for that. So the Z version is the better choise, despite all the drawbacks and the price difference.
Best Wishes,

 Saturation
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf