Author Topic: The Rigol DS1052E  (Read 513541 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cqmiao

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: cn
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #625 on: May 08, 2010, 02:05:24 pm »
rf-loop,thank you~
I'd upgrade the firmware to 00.02.02 SP2 ,It's ok!
My english is too bad~~
 

Offline cqmiao

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: cn
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #626 on: May 08, 2010, 04:25:48 pm »
OK,DS1052E upgrade to  DS1102E is successfully,but 02.04 firmware I can't find it.
help me ,please~~thanks??? ...
My english is too bad~~
 

Offline ChrisNYC

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #627 on: May 15, 2010, 03:29:08 am »
Anyone still on the fence about purchasing the ds1052E, here's a good price from a reputable US vendor with 3 year warranty. $399 shipped.

http://tequipment.net/RigolDS1052E.html
 

Offline saturation

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4788
  • Country: us
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #628 on: May 15, 2010, 10:39:37 am »
Awesome.  I'm in.  tequipment has certainly made a lot of sales from me this month.  BTW check out the 'reviews' :)

PS FWIW, its indepedent not independant.  Spelling please.  I wouldn't be surprised if this shipped directly from China with tequipment working as a broker for the sales.  The good news is those of us in the US get USA service from tequipment.

Good job!

Anyone still on the fence about purchasing the ds1052E, here's a good price from a reputable US vendor with 3 year warranty. $399 shipped.

http://tequipment.net/RigolDS1052E.html
« Last Edit: May 15, 2010, 10:49:45 am by saturation »
Best Wishes,

 Saturation
 

Offline ChrisNYC

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #629 on: May 15, 2010, 12:18:18 pm »
When I ordered from Tequipment last month, the scope was drop shipped from Rigol NA in Ohio. Got it in about 2 days.
 

Offline saturation

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4788
  • Country: us
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #630 on: May 15, 2010, 01:54:40 pm »
When I ordered from Tequipment last month, the scope was drop shipped from Rigol NA in Ohio. Got it in about 2 days.

Awesome.  I hope that's my fate.
Best Wishes,

 Saturation
 

Offline gecf343b1

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #631 on: May 16, 2010, 06:59:24 am »
FYI – I received my DS1052E 5/14/10, downgraded the FW,  used hyperterminal  to enter new model and serial number, rebooted. When I restarted the scope the model and serial number are missing.  The scope still operates fine as far as I can tell (at 50 mhz), so I am going to leave as is after reading this blog I’m afraid I might f/u the scope if I attempt the upgrade again.
Norm
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29482
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #632 on: May 16, 2010, 08:13:01 am »
Anyone still on the fence about purchasing the ds1052E, here's a good price from a reputable US vendor with 3 year warranty. $399 shipped.

http://tequipment.net/RigolDS1052E.html

Yes, I can vouch for Tequipment.net. Evan from tequipment has let me know that Rigol have dropped their price on the DS1052E, so this price drop is permanent.
With these sorts of prices there may be no need to buy from China any more if you are cash strapped. Getting it from a certified dealer like tequipment means you get that warranty.

Dave.
 

Offline kc1980

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 99
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #633 on: May 16, 2010, 09:06:00 am »
FYI – I received my DS1052E 5/14/10, downgraded the FW,  used hyperterminal  to enter new model and serial number, rebooted. When I restarted the scope the model and serial number are missing.  The scope still operates fine as far as I can tell (at 50 mhz), so I am going to leave as is after reading this blog I’m afraid I might f/u the scope if I attempt the upgrade again.
Norm


I don't know if it's any safer but I successfully hacked mine with USB using National Instrument's VISA tool.  I had no problems at all.
 

Offline joelby

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 634
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #634 on: May 16, 2010, 01:20:10 pm »
PS FWIW, its indepedent not independant.  Spelling please.

Did you mean independent? :)
 

Offline redek

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #635 on: May 16, 2010, 01:31:01 pm »
PS FWIW, its indepedent not independant.  Spelling please.

Did you mean independent? :)

Yet another reason its good practice not to be a spelling Nazi.
 

Offline saturation

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4788
  • Country: us
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #636 on: May 16, 2010, 01:51:58 pm »
Agree, mea culpa!  But it is an advertisement for a company, not a blog or forum post.  Many buyers see proper form means proper business.  Would you use a business card with your title misspelled?


PS FWIW, its indepedent not independant.  Spelling please.

Did you mean independent? :)
PS FWIW, its indepedent not independant.  Spelling please.

Did you mean independent? :)

Yet another reason its good practice not to be a spelling Nazi.

Best Wishes,

 Saturation
 

Offline slburris

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 520
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #637 on: May 16, 2010, 02:08:55 pm »
My brain has fuzzed over from wading through all the messages on this
thread and a similar one over on RC groups  :-)

I've applied the 2.04 firmware (although the scope sees it as a
"downgrade" like in Dave's video.  I think this is supposed to
improve LCD update rates, correct?  Any other known fixes over
2.02 SP2?

Scott
 

Offline wd5gnr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 179
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #638 on: May 16, 2010, 02:30:47 pm »
I didn't notice any difference between 2.02 and 2.04 (other than the un-upgradeableness if that's a word ;-)

However, the copy of 2.04 I found on the RC forum does NOT have help text. That is, if you hold down a button for a few seconds it tries to load help text (like 2.02 does) but then doesn't. I presume the help text is localized and the 2.04 copy in the wild didn't get localized help so it fails to find the "file" with the help text in it.

So I left mine back at 2.02. Figure if the copy floating around wasn't "finished" there might be other rough edges. I have heard that if your scope arrives with 2.04 in it, the help text works.

I bought mine from Riko Instruments (eBay) and I know at least 4 others who have got theirs from him on my recommendation (too bad I don't get a commission ;-) ). The reason I say that is that my buddy who got one last week still got 2.02 -- so while I have heard of some people getting 2.04, everyone that I have personally seen still had 2.02 on them when it arrived. If Rigol put 2.04 up somewhere "officially" I'd probably upgrade it.
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3061
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #639 on: May 16, 2010, 07:13:58 pm »
RC forum shared FW is 02.04.00.00 (this have never be as factory installed in scopes what come out from production to customers)

Rigol official FW version is now 02.04.00.01  ( scopes from Rigol factory come with this FW version)


If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline joost

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #640 on: May 17, 2010, 11:11:03 am »
I just received my scope from DX. Systeminfo shows me it has FW version 00.02.04. How can I find out if this is the 02.04.00.01 or something else? I'm missing some digits here..
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3061
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #641 on: May 17, 2010, 06:28:25 pm »
Send command *IDN? and scope answer to you.

(System display do not show (in this case) this last part of FW version)

« Last Edit: May 17, 2010, 06:33:48 pm by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline tequipment

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 198
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #642 on: May 19, 2010, 03:58:37 am »
@ saturation    ok we will fix our spelling!  I emailed our web department.

I might spell something wrong but I know my math will always be correct!  ( its the EE in me )
One a side note we dont ship anything from China.  We are a US dealer with about 40 employees.

Thanks for the business. 
Evan
www.Tequipment.NET
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3061
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #643 on: May 19, 2010, 04:53:08 am »
Tequipment

• 50 MHz
• 1GS/s RT 
• 25GS/s ET   wrong (it is 10Gs/s max)
• 2 Channel
• 6k Memory   wrong

;)
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline saturation

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4788
  • Country: us
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #644 on: May 19, 2010, 08:13:46 pm »
Good to know.  I bought an Instek DDS from you folks last month, and its shipped from CA, not from NJ.  It looks like it came direct from Instek's US storehouse, factory fresh out of Taiwan based on the production date of 4/10.  It took about a week to arrive.

I just received the Rigol at our receiving station, it came overnight, but I haven't had time to even get to it.  Impressive.

I Also got the Velleman HPS40 some time ago, and it too, came overnight.

I ordered my items via ground UPS or whatever your free shipping is, and it still came overnight; its a major plus.

You guys do a great job, documentation of sales are very professional, shipping speedy, sales support by email and chat work very well for me.

If you'all could fix the website search engine so we can make better searches it would help.  Right now, the best approach to the tequipment website is to know what you want first, then drill down to it.


@ saturation    ok we will fix our spelling!  I emailed our web department.

I might spell something wrong but I know my math will always be correct!  ( its the EE in me )
One a side note we dont ship anything from China.  We are a US dealer with about 40 employees.

Thanks for the business.  
Evan
www.Tequipment.NET
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 02:40:40 pm by saturation »
Best Wishes,

 Saturation
 

Offline tequipment

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 198
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #645 on: May 20, 2010, 04:37:40 am »
It will be a bit but I am working hard on it!  Stay tuned.
 

Offline halman

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #646 on: June 29, 2010, 04:05:23 pm »
Hello,

I seem to have bricked my scope while performing the firmware downgrade… When I restart the scope it does not boot up but one can see that the lcd is turned on but there is no image…

Any tips, can I somehow trigger a reflash from this state?

I have access to the necessary equipment to desolder and reflash most types of memories in a programmer .. but i rather not if there is any other way… 

 
The following users thanked this post: ivi_yak

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9019
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #647 on: June 29, 2010, 06:39:07 pm »
what happened? incomplete downgrade? blackout?
u said you can reprogram the spansion? well, i need one good spansion with rigol ds1052e firmware inside... if you can help.
i hope there is a way to reflash through usb or rs232 serial port, or even jtag header inside it? ???
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 06:43:34 pm by shafri »
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 
The following users thanked this post: ivi_yak

Offline halman

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #648 on: June 29, 2010, 07:02:42 pm »
It must have been an incomplete flash. I inserted an usb stick with the firmware and ran it from the menu system, once it was done I restarted the scope, it was then it refused to start up properly. Strange things go on with the button lights they light up randomly and if i do quick restarts they move...it looks kinda like a counter is incrementing.

spansion?

I can reprogram flash memories and eeproms easily enough, if i have to. But I don't know which parts of the .rgl file to place where.. and in what order ...

 
The following users thanked this post: ivi_yak

Offline dimlow

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 301
  • Country: gb
  • Likes to be thought of as
    • Dimlow Ponders
Re: The Rigol DS1052E
« Reply #649 on: June 29, 2010, 09:25:40 pm »
Im still watching this thread with interest, i doubt anybody will come up with a solution to this problem.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf