Author Topic: The Skills of a Pro  (Read 6868 times)

Offline ondoTopic starter

• Contributor
The Skills of a Pro
« on: September 29, 2015, 11:57:44 am »
Hi there, I'm currently reading "So good they can't ignore you" by Cal Newport, and that make me thing about the skills of a good engineer.

We have a lot of posts and stuff about the skills you need to have for a hobbist level, but not much about the skills that make one stand out in EE, and I thought it was something interesting to talk about.

I've been working for 5 years now in the field, and I don't have much of a clear answer. In fact, most senior I've worked with don't show much of a skill in the field. What's your take?

EDIT: Just moved this because I posted in the wrong forum (so many taabs!)

Offline John Coloccia

• Super Contributor
Re: The Skills of a Pro
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2015, 12:19:15 pm »
Other than having basic core skills of your field, which is just a given, the best engineers also have a strong understanding of other fields as well. If you're EE, you should understand a lot about:

mechanical design
software
manufacturing
project management

It doesn't hurt to have a pleasant demeanor so you're not "that guy".