Author Topic: The 'Skin Effect' for speaker wire.  (Read 17215 times)

Offline BrianHGTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Re: The 'Skin Effect' for speaker wire.
« Reply #25 on: January 08, 2019, 09:05:41 pm »
Especially compared to the chinese wires those develop green copper oxide just by sitting on the shelf, rendering them unsolderable...
Yes, avoiding crap wire is also important.  With such corrosion, your sound will be affected over time as the cable's lowers in impedance and crackles due to copper filaments flaking away.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #26 on: January 08, 2019, 11:34:30 pm »
Yes, avoiding crap wire is also important.  With such corrosion, your sound will be affected over time as the cable's lowers in impedance and crackles due to copper filaments flaking away.

The corrosion will increase the wire resistance, which is bad, of course.

Offline boB

• Frequent Contributor
    • my work www
« Reply #27 on: January 09, 2019, 12:52:40 am »

I only use powered studio monitors.  No speaker cables to choose from. 

The cable that IS in there is very short so problem solved !

K7IQ

Offline dzseki

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #28 on: January 09, 2019, 07:19:25 am »

I only use powered studio monitors.  No speaker cables to choose from. 

The cable that IS in there is very short so problem solved !

Solved? Shifted! You have a long, highly capacitive coaxial cable that is not terminated on its characteristic impedance instead  :-DD
HP 1720A scope with HP 1120A probe, EMG 12563 pulse generator, EMG 1257 function generator, EMG 1172B signal generator, MEV TR-1660C bench multimeter

Offline Gr8fulFox

« Reply #29 on: January 10, 2019, 11:11:07 am »

I only use powered studio monitors.

Bah; too small. Bigger is always better. ;D