Author Topic: TV maker unlawfully tracked viewing habits  (Read 17754 times)

Offline vealmike

• Regular Contributor
Re: TV maker unlawfully tracked viewing habits
« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2017, 07:48:44 am »
Anyway, what most people (apparently you included) don't quite grasp is the breadth of inferences you can make from data collected "with consent". I've been quite immersed in the academic literature around this stuff for some time.
No, I honestly do get it, I'm very aware of the big data revolution and the implications of data mining. I design rack mounted storage for a living, so I'm working on the fringes of the industry. I just don't care if LG knows what TV programs I watch, I have too much other s**t to worry about.

I would never give up personal health data, or agree to a have a black box monitor my driving habits. But my TV watch habits? I really don't care.

It's not as if they are my TV watching habits that LG will be collecting anyway. I'm married and therefore not allowed to use the remote control.

Offline Halcyon

• Global Moderator
« Reply #26 on: February 09, 2017, 10:01:22 am »
As for a black box monitoring your driving habits. Why are you so confident there needs to be a black box?

There already is. Insurers are handing out OBD-II dongles that monitor every aspect of your driving. What's in it for the driver? Lower insurance premiums if they "behave".
How do I solve this? Firstly, I don't drive like a moron but secondly, I get cheaper premiums through a company who "hand pick" who they insure (Shannons). I reviewed my insurance last year and based on what I used to do for a living, my claims history and some other things, they offered me full comprehensive insurance for far cheaper than the other brands. No gimmicks, no bloody dongles, no Thailand call centres.

Offline Red Squirrel

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: February 09, 2017, 10:18:39 am »