Author Topic: Very high pitched squeal from induction hob, what could it be?  (Read 18849 times)

Offline niels007Topic starter

• Contributor
Hey guys,

We just got an expensive induction hob in our new kitchen. Its perfect!

Except the ear splitting very high (I think around 15khz) pitched sound that is...

I'm only a mechanical engineer.. What causes could there be for this to happen? The type of pan seems only to barely matter, it gets worse the more zones I turn on and the higher I turn up the heat. The noise being so high frequency seems to be quite directional, move my head in just the right (or wrong) spot and the sound gets much more noticeable.

I found one similar case ( https://stellaculinary.com/forum/general-off-topic/cooking-equipment/trying-to-love-induction )

What could be going on? Wrong wiring? Coil whine? PWM stuff? Any ideas? Cooking is awesome on induction but this drives us nuts and is actually painful.

edit: this is pretty close to what I get, mine seems slightly higher pitched.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2018, 06:49:29 pm by niels007 »

Offline abraxa

• Frequent Contributor
  • Sigrok associate
Re: Very high pitched squeal from induction hob, what could it be?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2018, 11:05:07 pm »
Did you try other cookware? There are aluminium pots and pans around that have only small pieces of ferrous material in the bottom: http://www.beka-cookware.com/assets/products/images/13537204_Fluo_Frypan_20cm_Bottom.jpg
Such pots and pans cause a similar sound on my induction stove. I'd suggest cast iron for a test - it's perfect for induction.

Online coppercone2

• Super Contributor
  • $
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2018, 02:35:24 am »
I think what happens is the aluminum/stianless makes the coil look like a shorted turn so its either gonna blow up or go to a lower frequency (to avoid phase problems) which may be audible if it can do that

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC