Author Topic: Video editing on a budget.  (Read 5687 times)

Offline davelectronicTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Life's too short.
Video editing on a budget.
« on: February 16, 2020, 03:03:41 pm »
Recently my 14 year old Son has shown an interest in video editing. Mainly clips of Marvel and super hero stuff etc up until now he's used his tablet and mobile phone to do this. I've ask him if he would like a pc that is capable of doing this. I'm just a general web surfer, social media etc. I have no experience in video editing or gaming (my Sons other interest) So I'm tasked with putting together a desktop pc to do these to things.

As my Son does flit about with hobbies and interst, i didn't want to throw a fortune on hardware. From what I've read, its the cpu and ram that does the lions share of the editing rendering etc. So i was looking at used hardware for this desktop PC, with the intention of upgrading if he sticks with it. I'm not sure about what socket to build it round , but intel 1155 H2 and AM3+ systems is what I've been looking at. I would prefer to purchase a bundle, but not sure on which processor to go for. Anyone with experience in video editing could suggest a socket and processor to start this build off would be a great help. I know a fare amount of ram is needed, and a reasonable graphics card also. What I'm unsure about is how high a specifications the hardware needs to be. For example I've been looking at AMD FX and earlier i7 generations.
Any advice and help greatly appreciated, and thanks for reading.

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
Re: Video editing on a budget.
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2020, 03:12:07 pm »
Get a used server and add a cheap GPU.
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.

• Frequent Contributor
  • Life's too short.