Author Topic: virus over audio?  (Read 9719 times)

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
virus over audio?
« on: May 14, 2016, 05:15:05 pm »
I smell bull$#!t  :bullshit:
2013-11-badbios-malware-microphone-speakers.html

and there are tons of other articles if you google "microphone virus"
it seems like even the most techey  people bought into it.

reasons for my disbelief-
First of all, soundcards aren't capable of generating ultrasounds,
second, ultrasound is unidirectional
third, most probably mic circuitry is turned off and will ignore it

why don't they hook up a freaking oscilloscope to check it out?

what do you guys think?

pro advice needed
« Last Edit: May 16, 2016, 08:45:31 am by Raj »

Offline BobsURuncle

• Regular Contributor
Re: virus over audio?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2016, 05:19:17 pm »
That is a bad link.

The following users thanked this post: Raj

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)

Offline Len

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2016, 05:51:00 pm »
It turns out that the reported computer virus did not exist. Here is a follow-up article:
http://arstechnica.com/security/2013/11/researcher-skepticism-grows-over-badbios-malware-claims/

As for ultrasonic communication between PCs, that's the part of the story that is possible. As noted in the article you linked, it was demonstrated by researchers at the Fraunhofer Institute. That's where MP3 was developed, so they know something about PC audio.
DIY Eurorack Synth: https://lenp.net/synth/

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2016, 05:55:56 pm »
The initial infection vector still has to get executable code into memory and jump to it.  Virus-to-virus ultrasonic comms is obviously possible, but that's not a possible route for infection, as there's nothing on a clean machine that would decode AND execute the recieved ultrasound.

Offline sarepairman2