Author Topic: What did you buy today? Post your latest purchase!  (Read 2754363 times)

TopQuark and 6 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online Vgkid

• Super Contributor
Re: What did you buy today? Post your latest purchase!
« Reply #7450 on: November 07, 2018, 12:42:19 am »
*snip
I look forward to more pictures.
If you own any North Hills Electronics gear, message me. L&N Fan

Offline vk6zgo

• Super Contributor
« Reply #7451 on: November 07, 2018, 02:21:16 pm »
The "bulbs" are Nixie tubes. They need around 170VDC to illuminate. Not for absolute beginners, but also not what most would consider very high voltage.

McBryce.
Yeah!
You might say $&@#%€£¥¥#####&&&@@@!!!, if you touch it, but it is normally not capable of enough current to do you any real damage.
I don't know why people are so scared of a bit of DC HT---back in the day, we wouldn't have learnt anything if we had that attitude.

Just don't put your fingers in the wrong places---- after all, you wouldn't put your fingers in front of a jigsaw, or touch a soldering iron tip "just to see what happens!"

The following users thanked this post: Cubdriver

Offline Cubdriver

• Supporter
  • Nixie addict
    • Photos of electronic gear
« Reply #7452 on: November 07, 2018, 05:48:17 pm »
The "bulbs" are Nixie tubes. They need around 170VDC to illuminate. Not for absolute beginners, but also not what most would consider very high voltage.

McBryce.
Yeah!
You might say $&@#%€£¥¥#####&&&@@@!!!, if you touch it, but it is normally not capable of enough current to do you any real damage.
I don't know why people are so scared of a bit of DC HT---back in the day, we wouldn't have learnt anything if we had that attitude.

Just don't put your fingers in the wrong places---- after all, you wouldn't put your fingers in front of a jigsaw, or touch a soldering iron tip "just to see what happens!"