Author Topic: What's a typical day at your job like?  (Read 10591 times)

Offline eecookTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
What's a typical day at your job like?
« on: May 27, 2015, 05:44:15 pm »
Just write whatever comes to mind, here are a couple of questions to get you going.
What does your company do?
How long have you been working for?
What do REALLY do?
How's an average day there?
Do have any traditions with your coworkers?
Do have lunch all together?
Do you stop to eat at all?
How many women work with you?
etc.

The company I work at is a small company  based in Argentina focused solely on electronics design. While we take on any challenge the focus is power electronics. We are a full-time team of 5 EEs + 3 part time PhDs (all guys, only my boss secretary's girl) and I've been working here for almost 2 years.

My "office" hours starts at 8.30-9.00. First thing I will do is take half an hour to check my emails, look at my assigned tasks and layout the activities for the day. After that I'll go to the kitchen and make some tea. Then depending on the day I will (from most likely to less likely):
> Open Altium and work on a PCB
> Create Release documentation
> Rework a board
> Do lab tests
> Document custom magnetic components
> Work on some design

We usually stop to have lunch between 1-2pm and have lunch sitting on the table like you would do with your family, which is kinda cool. We have something to eat, some laughs and back to work in 30-40min. On Fridays though we all go to a BBQish kinda place which is awesome and it has become a tradition  which so far we have not broken.
After lunch we work till 6-7pm.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 07:51:28 pm by eecook »
Nullius in verba

Offline smjcuk

• Frequent Contributor
Re: What's a typical day at your job like?
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2015, 06:34:09 pm »
> What does your company do?