Author Topic: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.  (Read 1592665 times)

0 Members and 10 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline mtdoc

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3581
  • Country: us
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2050 on: June 16, 2016, 10:58:32 pm »
A lab with a kitchen. Excellent!  :-+
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8698
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2051 on: June 17, 2016, 12:24:48 am »
Yeah, all that thinking and soldering burns calories. Good to have fuel nearby. :-+
I TEA.
 

Offline System Error Message

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 469
  • Country: gb
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2052 on: June 17, 2016, 12:27:09 am »
A new challenge, can you eat and solder at the same time? or prepare and make food while working on an electronics project
 

Offline FireFlower

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 129
  • Country: fi
  • Wish had a cabin in Lappland
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2053 on: June 17, 2016, 11:17:27 am »
A new challenge, can you eat and solder at the same time? or prepare and make food while working on an electronics project

Actually we baked ginger bread men in a re-flow oven,good enough? :D

Anyway Farnell delived today a new power supply, a few components and an ESD bench mat.
 

Offline rrinker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2046
  • Country: us
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2054 on: June 17, 2016, 12:17:21 pm »
A new challenge, can you eat and solder at the same time? or prepare and make food while working on an electronics project

 If the tea or coffee gets cold, just dip the soldering iron in for a bit....

 

Online macboy

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2029
  • Country: ca
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2055 on: June 17, 2016, 12:34:18 pm »
A few weeks ago:


What's going on with the foil on that Metcal iron?
 

Offline FireFlower

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 129
  • Country: fi
  • Wish had a cabin in Lappland
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2056 on: June 17, 2016, 01:40:09 pm »
DIY stand for tweezer solder and regular hand piece made from old barcode reader stand and bicycle lock cable holder. When I bought that metcal used it didn't come with stand so had to improvise. Foil is just to protect plastic from melting on iron when I put or take iron in or out.

Anyway Tenma 3 channel power supply arrived (0-31V/3.1A + 0-31V/3.1A + 5V/3.0A) and new ESD bench mat. Then a little bit photo shooting and uploading pics to server.
 

Offline FireFlower

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 129
  • Country: fi
  • Wish had a cabin in Lappland
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2057 on: June 17, 2016, 08:11:17 pm »
And here is how it looks at this moment  :blah:

















 

Offline McBryce

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1837
  • Country: de
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2058 on: June 17, 2016, 08:18:06 pm »
So what happens if you pull the plug labeled "STOP!" ? :D

McBryce.
 

Offline FireFlower

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 129
  • Country: fi
  • Wish had a cabin in Lappland
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2059 on: June 17, 2016, 08:27:34 pm »
So what happens if you pull the plug labeled "STOP!" ? :D

McBryce.

It is the emergency stop plug. The problem is emergency stop button doesn't cut power from both line and neutral cords so you might end up with line being energized still and neutral only got cut. Thus creating a problem where power might go trough earth. It is just to remind me to check line will come to emergency stop button when I connect it to power outlet. Also should make unaware people to wonder why there is stop sign.
 

Offline McBryce

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1837
  • Country: de
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2060 on: June 17, 2016, 08:49:02 pm »
Ah, ok. I use the opposite method. If I'm working on HV stuff, especially DC, then the power is turned on through a non-latching footswitch. If I get a whack my foot comes off the pedal and cuts the power.

McBryce.
 
The following users thanked this post: BillyD, VK5RC

Offline Smokey

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Country: us
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2061 on: June 17, 2016, 08:59:36 pm »
Ah, ok. I use the opposite method. If I'm working on HV stuff, especially DC, then the power is turned on through a non-latching footswitch. If I get a whack my foot comes off the pedal and cuts the power.

McBryce.

How high voltage is your high voltage?
 

Offline McBryce

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1837
  • Country: de
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2062 on: June 17, 2016, 09:12:40 pm »
Just tube / nixie stuff = 220V tops, but that's more than I'd want to be holding for more than a few milliseconds.

McBryce.
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8698
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2063 on: June 18, 2016, 12:10:49 am »
Good idea, that footswitch. :-+
I TEA.
 

Offline Cubdriver

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3015
  • Country: us
  • Nixie addict
    • Photos of electronic gear
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2064 on: June 18, 2016, 02:39:33 am »
Ah, ok. I use the opposite method. If I'm working on HV stuff, especially DC, then the power is turned on through a non-latching footswitch. If I get a whack my foot comes off the pedal and cuts the power.

McBryce.

So basically, a deadman switch.  Excellent idea, and something to look into for the bench.

-Pat
If it jams, force it.  If it breaks, you needed a new one anyway...
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8698
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2065 on: June 18, 2016, 02:55:11 am »
Yeah, I was trying to avoid the word "dead" there. :-DD
I TEA.
 

Offline nowlan

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 642
  • Country: au
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2066 on: June 18, 2016, 03:08:52 am »
@fireflower

4,000 x 3,000 pixels
5mb+
hxxp://www.garde.fi/~fireflower/kuvia/projektit/kotostyspoyta/kotostyspoyta5.JPG
^ ridiculous file size.
 

Offline MarvinTheMartian

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: au
  • Location: Mars (wouldn't be caught dead on Earth!)
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2067 on: June 18, 2016, 04:31:19 am »
Fireflower - lab bench is coming along nicely  :-+

I think the chair needs some remedial work though!  :palm: :-DD

PS Could you make your pictures a smaller size please?  :)

Reviving my old hobby after retiring! Know so little...only one thing to do...watch Dave's videos and keep reading the forum! ;-)
 

Offline FireFlower

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 129
  • Country: fi
  • Wish had a cabin in Lappland
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2068 on: June 18, 2016, 07:43:08 am »
@fireflower

4,000 x 3,000 pixels
5mb+
hxxp://www.garde.fi/~fireflower/kuvia/projektit/kotostyspoyta/kotostyspoyta5.JPG
^ ridiculous file size.

I tend to forget people might not have 100/100 connection so I often don't resize pictures. They should be now more compact.
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15466
  • Country: za
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2069 on: June 18, 2016, 11:02:07 am »
Just buy the extra 2 NC contact blocks and put then in the enclosure, then you can break both line and neutral with it safely.  3 blocks because I have found that a lot of Telemechanique and KM switch blocks are very unhappy with having 2 contact blocks attached, and do not like having the centre empty either. So 3 blocks with one being unused are fine, and as well you can also wire the centre with a NO block and have a red LED lamp ( use a 3 station button housing, very common) to indicate button pressed, and a green LED to indicate power on.

If you want extra safety use a bigger housing ( deeper, but you lose the extra holding that the switches get from the base there) and use 2 switches in series on each phase. That way a welded contact will still be disconnected. Those contact blocks, while rated to carry 16A, are not really rated for long life making or breaking 16A though. They will fail, and there are very few 25A rated switch blocks available any more, you have to go with a low power contactor ( with the 9VA power consumption) to get that.
 

Offline McBryce

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1837
  • Country: de
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2070 on: June 18, 2016, 01:23:39 pm »
Yeah, I was trying to avoid the word "dead" there. :-DD

The footswitches main purpose is also to avoid "dead" :D

The one I use is a heavy diecast footswitch which originally came from a dictaphone system from the 60's. They're actually quite easy to find on a certain junk selling website. Something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Ojiden-Foot-Switch-Dictation-DFL-RV-S3-Osaka-Jidodenki-Works-Fine-/391465450429

McBryce.

 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8698
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2071 on: June 18, 2016, 06:02:43 pm »
Ah, yes, the good ol' dication machine...also dead.
I TEA.
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15466
  • Country: za
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2072 on: June 18, 2016, 06:44:53 pm »
Ah, yes, the good ol' dication machine...also dead.

Don't know, they are still used by transcription services, as there is no machine that can transcribe spoken language as well and as accurate.  Especially here, where we have 11 official languages, and you might have a legal case which is being heard in at least 3 languages by the assorted parties, or where you have poor audio quality in the recording that makes it hard for a machine to transcribe. This is something you really need a good result from. Not like the auto generated subtitles on the videos Dave makes, which often have little connection to the actual speech he is speaking at all.
 

Offline McBryce

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1837
  • Country: de
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2073 on: June 18, 2016, 07:08:59 pm »
Many lawyers still use dictaphones. My pedal came from a law office that was upgrading their system. The footpedal wasn't from their current system, it was just in a box of junk that had been decommissioned during the last update sometime in the 80's.

McBryce.
 

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5014
  • Country: gb
Re: Whats your Work-Bench/lab look like? Post some pictures of your Lab.
« Reply #2074 on: June 19, 2016, 09:16:37 pm »
My field lab this weekend. This time I've been helping out some postgrad students with the command, control and telemetry on their ESA satellite project. Amazing amount of progress made in just two days. Nice that an old fart engineer like me with just a bachelors from 30 years ago but with the benefits of the university of life gets asked to help out on space related projects like these, and they aren't covered by security clauses and NDAs!

 
The following users thanked this post: SeanB


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf