Author Topic: When the volts in your house go up will watts go up to.  (Read 10620 times)

Offline cowboy303Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
When the volts in your house go up will watts go up to.
« on: July 28, 2012, 12:15:57 am »
The voltage in my house is 122-124.  And if I'm right that's a little high.  We called the electric company and a guy came down and tryed to tell my Dad that if you have more volts you won't use as many amps equaling the same amount of watt.  Know I'm no professor but that does not sound right to me.
So the question is is he right.
thank you 

Offline David_AVD

• Super Contributor
Re: When the volts in your house go up will watts go up to.
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2012, 12:19:36 am »
Resistive loads (incandescent lamps, etc) will draw more current with increased voltage, resulting in increased power consumption.

Switch-mode power supplies will draw less current with increased voltage, resulting in the same power consumption.

I haven't really thought about other loads like refrigerator compressors and fluorescent lighting, etc.

Offline digsys

• Supporter
    • DIGSYS
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2012, 12:32:40 am »
Pretty much EVERYTHING will either go UP in power AND / OR be stressed. Even a Switch-mode P/Supply will
become warmer (loss) and lose more on the switching edges. The average current will drop, but not the full %
I'm still repairing equipment that blew up when a factory went from 240V > 305VAC (Failed Neutral)
Hello <tap> <tap> .. is this thing on?

Offline Monkeh

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2012, 12:53:45 am »
The voltage in my house is 122-124.  And if I'm right that's a little high.  We called the electric company and a guy came down and tryed to tell my Dad that if you have more volts you won't use as many amps equaling the same amount of watt.  Know I'm no professor but that does not sound right to me.
thank you