Author Topic: Why am I doing that's causing my credit cards to get fraudulently used?  (Read 8038 times)

Offline engineheatTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Twice this year, I had to cancel my credit cards due to unauthorized use, usually by someone out of state. I'm trying to pinpoint the problem but I'm not an expert on technology.

I make purchases online and pay my bills online, and I only do this at my home wifi, which has a password. Could it be that unscrupulous site/vendors can use your credit card information? It seems someone with your numbers can make a fake card and use it at physical locations, because that seems to be the case.

Or is it because Chrome stores your credit card info and that gets accessible when you use a public wifi later, even if you are not doing any shopping?

Thanks

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
If you know the card number and expiration date, you can definitely make a physical card with a magnetic stripe. Chip cards are harder to fake, but until nobody accepts striped cards, chips are useless.

I generally, don't give the card number to small sites with unknown reputation. They either have PayPal option or don't get my business.
Alex

Online wraper

• Supporter
More likely it was skimmer at ATM or point of sales.

Offline GerryBags

• Frequent Contributor
More likely it was skimmer at ATM or point of sales.

Yes, they've got very good at making them hard to spot when you're standing in front of a cash-point (ATM) in a hurry. I got caught twice in the last year I was living down South. Then you've also got to watch for fake refund phishing expeditions if you use Ebay these days. I never use links in Emails any more.

Online wraper

• Supporter
I just hate those stupid "anti-skimmer" devices banks place on many ATMs. Because of that crap you never know for sure is it's really an anti-skimmer or skimmer mimicking it :palm:.

The following users thanked this post: janoc

Online Bud

• Super Contributor