Author Topic: Why do they have to make it so difficult to use their products?  (Read 5646 times)

Offline tom66Topic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Electronics Hobbyist & FPGA/Embedded Systems EE
Why do they have to make it so difficult to use their products?
« on: October 20, 2012, 05:05:12 pm »
I want to play around with Xilinx and Altera FPGAs so I'm downloading their tools. I'm a CPLD/FPGA noob - and wanting to get some experience.

First off... 6 frigging gigabytes? Each? How the hell do they make them so big!?

OK, so I finished the download of the Xilinx software overnight (luckily the university network is reasonably fast here.) Launch it. 30 day free trial. I don't understand why they want the average user to pay for it -- after all, they will be buying hundreds, if not thousands of their FPGAs, if it is found to be useful and easy software to use -- so why make me make a significant upfront investment? After licensing it (for the webPACK edition - with no clear explanation of the differences) I have to jump through several hoops and still haven't found an easy "enter VHDL here" and "click to make the file you need" button. There's options for loading IP cores, which I guess you have to pay for, but no easy way that I can see to enter code. Oh, there is a C compiler. I don't know why you would put C on an FPGA? It's not an easily paralleled language, or is it modified for FPGAs?

What am I missing??   :-[

I'm trying the Altera software now, the installer is eating up 100% of my dual core machine, I will see how this compares to Xilinx stuff.

Any easy getting started guides written for people who just want to use a HDL?

Offline free_electron

• Super Contributor
    • SiliconValleyGarage
Re: Why do they have to make it so difficult to use their products?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 06:16:31 pm »