Author Topic: Why would they charge for an SDK?  (Read 1980 times)

Offline soFPGTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Why would they charge for an SDK?
« on: December 06, 2019, 02:11:58 pm »
I mean, I don't get it: Why would a chip manufacturer charge for an SDK to enable customers developing their own software for these chips?

Maybe I want to do a bluetooth hobby project in the future (btw I am a pure hobbyist, I don't want to sell anything so that's another reason to not buy an SDK) so I looked around what kind of ICs there are. I knew about Nordic Semi before, they have some nice controllers with Bluetooth and they have the SDK to download for free on their website. Nice!

I searched google for a little bit more and came across a Qualcomm chip series which have Bluetooth 4.1 LE: https://developer.qualcomm.com/hardware/csr101x/csr1010-1011-dev-kits
So I registered on their website and I was able to find some documents about the CSR1010, which is a 16-bit uC (but they don't tell you which kind, it's 16-bit you know) with some ROM (that's how they describe it) and RAM. You can boot from internal ROM and from external I²C and SPI memory as well (that's nice I think). Programming also happens via SPI so you need some kind of SPI <-> USB adapter (which is on the Dev Board which I'll talk about in a bit).
It seems like Qualcomm aquired the company which originally developed these chips (called CSR) in 2015.
As I said it is possible to download some documents, to download the SDK however you need a product code. And you don't get any information on their website about how to get that product code! You have to look into the User-forum (which is not very active by the way) so that people tell you that you NEED to buy a 99$ dev board with bunch of buttons and LEDs and stuff on it which no body needs just to get a CD (in 2019) with the SDK on it (and probably a product key as well).

But why?  :-//  :--